We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting here again, I was a bit disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant

Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 2,214 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Visiting here again, I was a bit disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have always liked this chain and reviewed it well previously, but I had a not so great experience recently. One of our party was pregnant and the seater sat us at a table rather than a booth which was not very thoughtful. We also had a small but noisy toddler and even though the whole restaurant was nearly empty, she tried to seat us right next to the only quiet group in the place, which didn't give much thought to them. She took a while to get a high chair for the toddler and when she did bring it, she didn't put it in the correct place, but expected us to move the chairs around to accommodate it!

We ordered our drinks but we all started to taste a plastic-like flavor which it appeared was coming from the plastic straws!

Someone had ordered a side of fries which arrived 20 minutes before their main. By the time the mains arrived, they had gone cold.

The food itself was not very nicely cooked.

On our way out, we were trying to push the baby through the now-crowded restaurant, and a waitress stood right in front of us blocking the way out. When she finally noticed us, she made a rude face, rather than being polite and helpful;

Altogether, I was really shocked at the bad experience we had here, and we won't be visiting again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zoebrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda D, Guest Relations Manager at Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your business and sharing your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your recent experience at our restaurant wasn't great. I'll be sure to pass this information along to our management team so that they can address the issues you mentioned. If you would like to speak with someone in regards to your experience, please email us at gbsocialcomments@cwrestaurants.com and we will be in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    74
    35
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Evening, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

A group of us went to this restaurant and had a great time. We loved the Lobster Bisque! The staff was friendly and our waitress was so nice. (Sorry, can't remember her name right now.)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianeTejeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average food/great beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have eaten here 3 times with various groups. Service is pretty slow and food is ok - many items seem very garlicy - deserts are also average. House beer, however, is great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I came here with a group late one evening (9:00). The service was great, helpful, attentive, and friendly. I had already had dinner, so I ordered the apple bread pudding, which was fantastic! Highly recommend. Their garlic fries were also very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosieposie517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, IL
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, family oriented, fair prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

During a very busy evening in downtown Columbus, this was the spot that allowed minors in at the late hour (10 pm), but their menu and bar still allowed the adults the ability to kick back and enjoy themselves. Great food selections, and reasonably priced. I'd go back again, for sure!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing