We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't worry, BBQ in Ohio is alive & well!”
Review of City Barbeque

City Barbeque
Ranked #289 of 2,235 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Don't worry, BBQ in Ohio is alive & well!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It is a local chain, but I promise you, it's fantastic!

The food is delicious. Pulled pork and brisket are amazing. But you've got to try the smoked turkey! A friend kept telling me for years to try the turkey, but I couldn't pull myself away from the usual pork. Now...I can't get away from the turkey! I don't know how they keep it so moist, but it is incredibly delicious.

I just had the pleasure of having a smoked ham at Thanksgiving from there...one word; awesome. I'm not sure if the hams are available all of the time or just for holidays, but when it's there, I recommend it too.

The side dishes are wonderful country style foods. Baked Mac & cheese, green beans with pork, baked beans and my favorite by far, the corn casserole!! Please try it...you'll forget all about your grandma's!

While the inside is comfortable for eating, I prefer take out. They do a really good job with take out...they should, they've been doing so many tailgates for years! I barely have time to choke down a beer from the ice tub before my order is ready.

You've gotta try this place...it's worthy, believe me!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JURatGNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We really enjoy this restauarant. I always get the ribs. Occassionally, they are a bit dried out, but for the most part they are good. Baked beans are a good side and their mac and cheese is very creamy. The cheese on their cheese and bacon fries is a bit spicy, but not so hot as to be unedible.

This place is family friendly and they generally have sports on the TVs. It isn't fancy, but its fast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphin041599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Among the Best BBQ I've Ever Had”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is wonderful barbeque. I usually go for the City Sampler. It consists of brisket (the best I've had), pulled pork (quite nearly the best), sausage, smoked turkey (the best I've had) and two sides. Recently, I had the cole slaw and green beans with bacon as my two sides.

That dinner is a calorie killer, so it's reserved for special occasions. Everything comes naked - without sauce. At your table, you will find a variety of sauces. My favorites are their traditional BBQ sauce, and their "Brushfire BBQ" sauce, which is a little spicier. Their macaroni and cheese is excellent, and the peach cobbler is wonderful.

Atmosphere is a little lacking. It is super casual, with random tables and wooden chairs everywhere. I've not purchased a beer there, but have noticed that there is a tub of ice cold beer next to the line as you walk up to order.

The prices are higher than they used to be. The City Sampler is now $15.99 - which is a little steep, though the quality of bbq probably justifies it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Great food - gotta have the potatoe salad. Had a combo platter, all the meat was fantastic. I would go back in a second.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeWi_wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great BBQ great Price”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Lots of food. Beer too expensive. Lemonade is wonderful. Atmosphere could be better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LezaMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to City Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing