We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our so-called adjustable mattress was anything but adjustable. It was like a granite slab on either the firmest or the softest. The rest of the room and hotel were nice but when you can't sleep the rest just doesn't matter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Hendrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Hendrik,

You are absolutely right. One of the main expectations of any hotel is a good night’s rest. And most certainly you should expect that from a Hilton Hotel. I cannot apologies enough for your sleepless night. I know we took care of your charges for the evening and deservedly so, but that could give you back the sleep you lost. Thanks to you reporting that issue to us we were able to fix the bed for the next guest. Again I am very sorry and hope that you would give us another chance to show you that our beds are as nice as the rest of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 599 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in a great area of Columbus, Ohio, to attend an indoor track and field meet at the French Field House at OSU. Our granddaughter was participating in the women's pole vault and we needed a place to store her poles overnight. Without hesitation the manager let my son-in-law bring the bag with her poles 14' ft. long! In a locked room until morning. That is real service. Sorry I did not get his name but thank you so much. The room was great, the beds comfortable and the entire hotel clean and neat. We had breakfast in the grille in the morning and ordered a omelet which was very good. When we return to Columbus, we will return to the Hilton Garden Inn, Columbus / Polaris.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Browns64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you Browns for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Polaris. I cannot thank you enough for the great review. Our staff is always ready to help any needs of our guests. We are so happy for the success your granddaughter had at the track and field meet. And we wish her all the best in the future. We are glad you enjoyed our fresh cooked to order breakfast, our clean and fresh hotel, and the very comfy beds. We cannot wait to hear about her success and we certainly look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here while in training. The food was good, the staff friendly, and my room was quiet. The hotel had both wireless and wired internet access in the room which is a plus for the business traveler. The business office printers actually had paper in the paper trays at all times.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thanks Mary for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. The nice comments you shared about our hotel are really appreciated. The staff is always motivated when our guests share how nice and friendly they are. The fresh cooked to order breakfast along with our buffet is always a great value and wonderful way to start your day. Hilton tries to think of everything for the business traveler. The complimentary internet is great in itself but now there are even more premium internet options for travelers that demand more from their internet. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Columbus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel was exactly what you'd expect for the price paid. They were apparently doing some renovations on the main floor so there were several repairmen, numerous drop clothes and scaffolding. The heating&a/c unit in my room was incredibly loud. Even sleeping with pillows over my head couldn't drown out the sound - I eventually had to turn it off and sleep in the cold.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Daniel,
I am so sorry about the experience you had during your stay. It is obvious it is not what you would expect from a Hilton Hotel. It is very difficult to renovate the public areas in a very busy Hotel. Our new lobby, Garden Grill and Bar dining room, reception and meeting room areas are beautiful. We appreciate the patience of those who experienced discomfort during their stay with us. If there is anything I can do to make you feel more satisfied I would be happy to hear from you. We look forward to your return and hopefully will appreciate the beautiful new areas of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It was a great place to stay. The coffee maker in the room was a great touch. You must enjoy the hot tub especially with the Ohio winters. It is right next to the Polaris Mall which is fantastic and a lot of every restaurant you could think of. It is really helpful to be right at I 71 and the connections to downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Polaris for your special anniversary. We really appreciate the great review and the nice comments about our staff. We get so many wonderful comments about them. And our rooms are always so clean and fresh. We are also glad you enjoyed our very popular Romance Package with the chocolate covered strawberries and wine.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again on your next special getaway weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great location in Polaris. Can walk to several restaurants if you'd like. (Carrabas, roadhouse, Quaker steak). Had a room with two queens. Very clean. Used the pool, it was great. Kids loved it. You have to pay for breakfast. I booked a rate with it added to our room. Not worth paying for. I've had free much better elsewhere..and it was free. Watched many guests eat and leave, not paying, thinking it was free I'm sure and the waitress be disgusted... But I'm sure they weren't able to be charged.... Pillows were awful. I'm not real picky about that kind of thing either but by morning our pillows were so flattened we were basically on the mattress. My husband forgot his wallet in the room and it was overnighted to us....so kind! Thank you!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank dew1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. We appreciate the great things you enjoyed about our property, the cleanliness, the indoor pool and hot tub and our perfect location. I also thank you for pointing out where we fell short of your expectations. Normally our guests rave about our breakfast. I am very sorry we were not at our best during your stay. I apologies for the soft pillows we will make sure those are replaced and the next guests do not have the same experience. I am also very happy that we were able to return your husband’s wallet to him so quickly.
Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your thoughts about your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again and give us another opportunity meet the expectations you should have from a Hilton Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A big Thank You to the staff for making our stay very enjoyable. The small Valentines Day touches were great, but the wine, chocolates & chocolate covered strawberries that were brought to our room for our anniversary were amazing! We also appreciated that the shuttle could take us to a nearby restaurant so we didnt have the stress of fighting Columbus traffic. Also, the hotel was very clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthN70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill Q, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Ruth,
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy that we helped make your Valentines getaway relaxing and fun. HGI has such a great location and we appreciate you mentioning how clean and fresh our rooms are. And the staff is always motivated when our guests make note of how wonderful they are. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you on your next getaway. The Romance Package will always be there for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus/Polaris
Hilton Columbus/Polaris
#9 of 144 in Columbus
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
0.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Polaris
Candlewood Suites Polaris
#64 of 144 in Columbus
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North Polaris
Comfort Inn North Polaris
#39 of 144 in Columbus
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris

Address: 8535 Lyra Drive, Columbus, OH 43240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#10 Family Hotel in Columbus
#18 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $113 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris Hotel Columbus
Hilton Garden Inn Polaris
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Polaris Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing