We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner on a cold evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Top Steakhouse

The Top Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Top Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 2,222 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: James
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great dinner on a cold evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

During our annual Christmas shopping trip to Easton, we made reservations for dinner at The Top. As usual, it didn't disappoint. I love the ambience of The Top. It is like stepping back in time. My husband had the prime which, which was fantastic. I had the shrimp cocktail and French onion soup. Both were delicious. Service was very good and our reserved table was ready when we got there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wombat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    49
    21
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Been going to the Top Steakhouse for years and had a special occasion to celebrate. Went, hoping for an extra special evening. The food was fine, flavorful and prime meats, but our service was nothing but poor. Our server was totally disinterested in delivering the kind of hospitality and attention a $50 steak dinner deserves. Our special event, special meal, would have been handled better at The Longhorn and I'll bet our bread wouldn't have been ice cold either.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go! Go! Retro!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you want the latest techniques, tricks or a gastropub experience...skip The Top; however, if you want to bask in the era of Sinantra then by all means skip RIGHT TO The Top! Steaks - done in traditional ways and always to my selected temperature, come complete with a deep fried and tasty onion ring right front and center. The traditional lemon on the plate for the fish fanatics? Of course it is nestled neatly in a hand-tied mesh "pouch" to keep any seeds from landing in your cobia. You want butter...perhaps sour cream on your classic baked potato? The three cornered condiment serving vessel standing-by to laddle it on!

Before (and after) dinner, make sure you hang out at the most uniquely shaped bar. This bartending staff works like a well-oiled machine and is always engaging and entertaining. Plus, they don't "mail it in" when it comes to making your drink. Would you like an Old Fashioned? Call your bourbon and watch the muddling! Prefer a martini? Oh yeh. Perhaps an after dinner Grasshopper or Brandy Alexander - they'll whip the ice cream into a frothy treat and not bat an eyelash. What fun!

Then, once you have the cab on speed dial - cuz you're not driving home now - gather 'round the piano, select a song from the gazillion song archive and SIIIIING! This place is simply amazing and true to its roots. You have to be in the proper frame of mind when you go here, but boy-oh-boy is it ever a hoot. Treat those that remember the nightclub days of yore to a treat and take them to The Top.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morebreadplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ambience CANNOT BE BEAT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you are looking for a steakhouse that you would expect to find Sinatra sitting in the corner, this is it!!! The place has not changed since 1955 and that is a good thing - for those of us who like classics. The food was slightly above average but you are not going for just the food - the piano bar with singer(s) and the look and feel of the place are worth at least one try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Was not impressed with last visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Apparently, we showed up too late (9pm) and had to hear more conversation from the employees behind the bar than we needed/wanted to! The food is always very good at The Top, but very pricey.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CbusBookkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Top Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing