We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Indian”
Review of The Banana Leaf

The Banana Leaf
Ranked #1,206 of 2,230 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top Notch Indian”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I were just passing through town, and were in the mood for Indian. The Banana Leaf was close to our route so we tried it out. The food was excellent! We wanted to order everything, but what we did end up getting was amazing! The food took awhile to come out, but it says on the menu everything is made from scratch when you order so it takes time...So be sure to get some chats (snacks) in the meantime. The owners were so nice, friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana, United States
1 review
“great!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We enjoyed everything about our experience, the owner took care of us personally and gave us his "110% guarantee" that we would love the food. It was superb!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The menu says that they aim to treat everyone who visits like family and it really did feel that way. We ordered an appetizer that was spicy and our two year old made it clear that he wasnt thrilled, so the server brought out some of the dish without any sauce in a little bowl for him! The food was excellent and they had a ton of stuff to choose from- i wish we had time to visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AAttryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Wonderful array of flavors and dishes. Eat slowly if you order the buffet. It starts with several chaat appetizers. You'll think "this doesn't look like much", but you'll be full before you even get to the buffet. The owner will point out the vegan dishes and has juices available instead of the yogurt lassi. We've never ordered from the menu because I just can't pass up the chaats. One of the best Indian cuisines I've ever had

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
335 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Love the buffet!”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We always go with the intention of ordering off of the menu, but once we get there, we can't pass up the buffet with all the chaats. The chaats are presented well and each one has a distinct and delicious taste. In our top 3 Indian restaurants in Columbus. Great food.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Steph0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banana Leaf also viewed

 

Been to The Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing