We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as ever”

J Alexander's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 2,228 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Campus View and North High Street
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
507 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good as ever”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been going to J Alexander's since it opened as we used to live right around the corner! Haven't been there in years, but went yesterday. It was as good as ever. When you walk in it smells fabulous and the menu doesn't disappoint. Well worth a visit. There are lots of restaurants in Columbus, but this is a consistently great experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CARIBBEAN757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    79
    30
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quality Foid and Drink at a Reasonable Cost”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a 10 oz. filet mignon, a baked potato, and small Caesar salad for $30.00
Wine was a Gott Zin @ $10.00 per glass
Vegeburger my wife had was very good. Had a nice texture and taste.
The Key Lime pie was very good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful dinner!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were having a "goodbye" dinner with a dear friend who is moving. The service was excellent, and so was the food and wine. We spent a fair amount of money but walked out feeling it was worth every penny. On a weekend especially however, make a reservation. I had the filet and it was good size and cooked perfectly. The salad was wonderful and sides. All were happy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorbettFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant. Service was very good. My wife had the Maui steak with the garlic mashed potatoes with a salad. She said that her steak had a very good flavor but it was very fatty.I had the the sirloin steak with a baked potato my steak was very good had a great taste and was prepared just right... everything was served hot .......we will be back.......

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tig2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
243 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I tend to avoid corporate chain restaurants. J Alexander's provided a pleasant surprise for business lunch. I was impressed with two managers, one running the front of the house and another the front of the kitchen. Service IMPECCABLE. Food was outspending, I had their steak burger it was one of the best burgers I have ever had. Others had French dip and it was great. Chicken strips very nicely done.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tippyobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing