We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Time Favorite”

J Alexander's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 2,222 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Campus View and North High Street
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“All Time Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have never had a disappointing meal at J. Alexander's. It's very hard to believe this is a "chain restaurant". Recently I had prime rib that was very tasty. Each October I go and have the carrot cake as a birthday treat to myself. It is awesome.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    77
    30
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Staff Good Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been here many times and I have never been disappointed. I everything I have tried has been Good but I would say my favorite is the "rattlesnake pasta" Its actually chicken but the name is because of the southwest seasonings and spices. This is a comfortable restaurant where you can dress up or where jeans and a nice shirt and fit right in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Prime Rib and Value in Columbus Ohio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my favorite Restaurant in the Columbus Ohio Area. Great value for what you get. All the way from the cozy atmosphere, great service, and great food. My wife and I can get get in and out of there in 1 hour, have a great meal for around $55 total. We usually get the prime rib because it's always good. For $25 bucks each you can get salad, prime rib (good cut), loaded Baked potato and probably the best filtered ice cold water in the nation.

Give it a try. I bet you will agree.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flounder1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Whatever you do GET THE MACARONI & CHEESE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

OMG!!! This is my favorite all time restaurant in Ohio! The service is ALWAYS marvelous, the food is always the BOMB no matter what you get the portions are very nice for the price and no matter what you have on you will be dressed for the occasion. And whatever you do, do not leave without someone at your party getting the macaroni and cheese. to die for

Helpful?
Thank SUMMER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphos, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere attentive staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Granted it has been several months since I was there with my daughter for lunch. My wife and I are retired and I must admit we do have a tendency to eat out quite often. I was meeting my daughter on her lunch break and I must say the food was decent - not exceptional. I do remember thinking that the value did not come close to our normal standards. There are several restaurants in that area - I can't say as there was anything really remarkable that would make me want to return. Nothing really wrong - but not exceptional

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MPHDelphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing