We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Prime Rib and Value in Columbus Ohio”

J Alexander's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 2,235 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Campus View and North High Street
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Prime Rib and Value in Columbus Ohio”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my favorite Restaurant in the Columbus Ohio Area. Great value for what you get. All the way from the cozy atmosphere, great service, and great food. My wife and I can get get in and out of there in 1 hour, have a great meal for around $55 total. We usually get the prime rib because it's always good. For $25 bucks each you can get salad, prime rib (good cut), loaded Baked potato and probably the best filtered ice cold water in the nation.

Give it a try. I bet you will agree.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flounder1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    82
    30
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Whatever you do GET THE MACARONI & CHEESE!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

OMG!!! This is my favorite all time restaurant in Ohio! The service is ALWAYS marvelous, the food is always the BOMB no matter what you get the portions are very nice for the price and no matter what you have on you will be dressed for the occasion. And whatever you do, do not leave without someone at your party getting the macaroni and cheese. to die for

Helpful?
Thank SUMMER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphos, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere attentive staff”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Granted it has been several months since I was there with my daughter for lunch. My wife and I are retired and I must admit we do have a tendency to eat out quite often. I was meeting my daughter on her lunch break and I must say the food was decent - not exceptional. I do remember thinking that the value did not come close to our normal standards. There are several restaurants in that area - I can't say as there was anything really remarkable that would make me want to return. Nothing really wrong - but not exceptional

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MPHDelphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Lunch is pretty good, but you need time”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went here twice for lunch but you need longer than the normal hour, as service isn't exactly speedy. Had the french dip and the chicken, and both were excellent. The carrot cake comes highly recommended

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank psychokilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was excited to visit this restaurant, but I left disappointed. The dress code seemed a little casual. I felt overdressed in a dress. The restaurant was crowded, but the wait was only about 20 minutes.
I found it difficult to order because the menu was somewhat limited. I ordered the chicken, which was an entire chicken and mashed potatoes. It was alright--nothing special. The service was alright--nothing special.
There was nothing in particular that turned me off, but there was nothing that turned me on either. I think I would choose a different restaurant next time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james_4690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing