We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, terrible service.”
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #141 of 2,235 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nationwide Street
Transit: COTA Bus Service - Nationwide and Front Street stop.
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average food, terrible service.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Our dinner started off great with the friendly hostess seating us. We ordered the caprese salad, baked ziti, and a specialty chicken meal. The waitress brought the salad which had no basil. Really? If is supposed to be tomatoes, mozzarella and basil! 3 main ingredients! When we told her it didn't have basil, she told us they were out and she couldn't magically make it appear! Who does that? Finally, she brought out chopped basil. Yes, they had it all along. The baked ziti was very dry. The chicken was very good though. However, we will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    89
    62
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
188 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Team meal”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We were a large group of about 40 going to dinner after softball game. The service was a little slow but we were a large group. It was a new experience. The meatballs are huge, 1/2 pound each. We had manicotti and baked ziti and it was plenty for 4 of us. Downside is I had a coupon where I had joined their emails/club and another had a coupon for 10 off 2 meals. One was for a free small meal which would have saved me 19 dollars but they could only use one coupon for our large group even though we had separate checks by families. It's downtown columbus so not ideal location for group of girls wo men and adults as they were approached by a homeless man.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wvbeachmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and filling!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We always like a fun Buca! This one did not disappoint. We had a great appetizer with delicious fun drinks. The waiters were helpful, friendly, and kind. The meals as you might expect were HUGE! The desserts were equally as big! We would recommend this location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sigma1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great eating experience!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a great eating experience! Exactly what I thought Italian family dinner would be like.

Fascinating decoration at the entire place (Love that Maldini's jersey on the wall). Service is great, waitress was nice and absolutely helpful. Food was fantastic, got a mozzarella sticks for appetizer, shrimp pasta dish with a side of garlic bread for the entree, and my boyfriend closes the meal with cappuccino -- they were all delicious. Price is also good overall for the amount and quality of food and the eating experience that you get. But the star is really the dessert. We got their homemade cheesecake and it was really phenomenal. It was full of flavor but not too heavy on your stomach. It will dissolve in your mouth if you let it there for just enough time. They topped it with delicious, genuine raspberry sauce. Absolutely magnificent.

Would have given 5 star, except that the garlic bread, even though it was good, it was not warm at all. We were convinced that this might be how garlic bread is supposed to be served? Shrimp pasta dish could use a little more seasoning. Mozzarella sticks was also even though it was good, it was way too over priced (12 dollars for 8 pieces) and was hoping for a tour in the beginning of our visit.. a friend of ours said that if you're there for the first time, waitress will give you one, but she didn't.

Overall, great eating experience and I would recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Father's Day Let-Down”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I have enjoyed many great meals here but today was sub-pat at best, and on Father's Day at that. We ordered the stuffed mushrooms as an appetizer and they came half-cooked. The stuffing wasn't bad but they cut like raw mushrooms. We told the waiter who apologized for it, that was it. By the time he had returned to check on us we'd eaten half of them so we didn't ask for anything - point is, why would we even HAVE to at a properly run restaurant?

Then came the real disappointment - the lasagna. I think we've ordered it every time we've been there in the past and always loved it. Today it came lukewarm with the cheese coagulated. Again, by the time the waiter checked on us we just lived with it and didn't ask for anything to be done. When wife mentioned it to the waiter as yet another case of a cold serving and asked what the problem was in the kitchen today, he actually admitted that we weren't the first to comment on the temperature of the lasagna! Apparently they freeze it after the initial cooking and don't bother to check the temperature with a simple thermometer before serving. We sent back the servings on our plate to be microwaved. The rest was packed to bring home where we'll be sure to warm it properly this time.

Other than the apologies fro our waiter, that was it so far as a response form the restaurant staff. A VERY disappointing meal for what should have been a special day yet apparently management didn't care enough to come by and express any concern. This told me the manager simply didn't care. We'll think twice before returning to this location - if ever again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? Please make sure to include the date and location of your visit as well as the title of your review in your e-mail. We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing