We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday brunch”

94th Aero Squadron Restaurant
Ranked #740 of 2,228 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orient, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Sunday brunch”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went for Sunday brunch for my mom & dad's 75th birthdays. We had a rather large group (10) and our server, Kenny, did a very good job keeping dishes cleared and drinks filled up. He was very friendly and personable.

We have been here multiple times for the buffet for special occasions. It is billed as 'now independently owned and operated'. The quality and layout for the brunch is much improved over previous visits. All of the food stations were attractively presented and the dishes were tasty and well prepared. They were also set up for much better flow. The made-to-order station chef did a very good job with preparations. I cannot speak for the regular menu selections as our experience has only included the buffet.

It is very reasonably priced at about $20 per adult and $13 per child. Regular coffee is extra but cappuccino and juice are included in the buffet.

The one negative is the lack of grounds maintenance. Exterior maintenance and landscaping has been neglected. There are straw bales that have been there for years, broken down and moldy. Years ago, the kids would sit on them for pictures. They are nasty now. Straw bales cost less than $5.00, tops. Planters, beds and shrubs are not tended. A flat of annuals is less than $20. And pruning shears are reusable. Weeding just takes a little elbow grease.

The interior decor is interesting and the kids love watching the planes take off. Just wish they put a little effort into exterior maintenance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJOpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    27
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“In need of a big time spruce up/clean up”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We enjoy the 94th, however, the really need a major overhaul to the place. The grounds outside need some attention. Not a very good first impression. There is a oak barrel close to the front door, where possibly at 1 time flowers may have been planted in, now, there are just weeds.
The tablecloths at the adjacent table to where we were sitting, we put on the wrong way and you could see the tags. Our table cloth had some stain on it. We were sitting next to a window and there was a spider web coming from the window over to our table. There were 2 of us sitting at a 4 top table, which is the table size where they usually place us. They do not remove the extra place settings, so, I am assuming after we leave, they just replace plates and utensils from our seats. For sanitary reasons, I wish they would take the extra serving peices off the table, who knows what the previous table guests did to the extra settings!??. Yuck! In area where we were sitting, they were using part of it for storage of items. Not very pleasing to the eye looking at a bunch of fake flowers and stacked up plastic glass containers. A very tired and worn place. Food is consistant and pretty good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Brunch”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Went on Mothers Day. Great selection of food. Price is okay. Will do it again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paqman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
156 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Food was just okay nothing special. Service was fair.
But it is different in terms of the atmosphere and decor
with a lot of WWII photos etc.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank travelkitty28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always sounds like a good idea”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We haven't been here in a while so maybe things have changed, but the food is average and the prices are high. The ambience is great, so we keep wishing the rest would improve.

It is nestled in a small grove of trees near Port Columbus Airport and has a World War 1 theme including gas lights and antique vehicles. The building itself is stone with large fire places.

The dining area is multilevel so that from most tables you can watch the planes take off and land through the wall of windows facing the airport.

Helpful?
Thank Pinocchio1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 94th Aero Squadron Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 94th Aero Squadron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing