We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haiku”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Haiku - CLOSED

Haiku
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haiku”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Once again, I'm just ticked off because they dropped my favorite dish--in fact, the only dish I order there. So I get it somewhere else. Sayonara, Haiku.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This isn't my favorite place in Columbus, OH for sushi but it is a good a one. If your in the Short North district or anywhere downtown and don't want to make a long drive to Kobe this place is for you. Its rather trendy and some of the waiters act that way, while some are rather nice also. The fish is good usually but the portions are small and the price is high. There's a great sake selection amongst other high end beverages. I do like this place but would only go here if Kobe is absolutely out of the question.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treyhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average is average”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just had dinner with the family at Haiku. While the service was good the sushi really was nothing to rave about. There are many sushi restaurants in Columbus that are far better. The sushi rolls really did not stand out, they were actually very bland. Similar in quality to grocery store sushi which usually is prepared with Frozen fish. Freezing fish tends to take much of the fresh flavor away and that is what this seemed like.

Lastly, be aware of the high prices for alcohol. My wife and i each ordered a glass of Mark West pinot noir wine. The charge was $8 per glass which is reasonable however, i have never been served such a SMALL glass of red wine at a restaurant before.

Therefore my rating for Haiku was average, and it just barely made an average rating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PWolfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suberb Sushi on High St!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have been to Haiku sushi several times because every visit is amazing! First time we sat at the bar taking it all in and happened to sit beside the owner. We were fortunate to sample tenderloin terryaki, a dish he created to see how it would do. OMG it was a savory splendor to the tongue!! Every dish I've ever had has exceeded expectations! For an appetizer I highly recommend the spicy calamari!!! It may not be on the menu, but is always expected to be ordered, for a reason!
I love that Haiku isn't a chain, and does sushi well! Will not disappoint!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Staff”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

When we moved to Columbus 2 years ago some friends brought us here for dinner. What a great experience. They have outstanding sushi and the staff goes out of their way. This is a great spot to start the gallery hop with dinner and drinks. We have been back several times and will continue to dine here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaddM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haiku also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing