We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average is average”
Review of Haiku - CLOSED

Haiku
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Japanese
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average is average”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just had dinner with the family at Haiku. While the service was good the sushi really was nothing to rave about. There are many sushi restaurants in Columbus that are far better. The sushi rolls really did not stand out, they were actually very bland. Similar in quality to grocery store sushi which usually is prepared with Frozen fish. Freezing fish tends to take much of the fresh flavor away and that is what this seemed like.

Lastly, be aware of the high prices for alcohol. My wife and i each ordered a glass of Mark West pinot noir wine. The charge was $8 per glass which is reasonable however, i have never been served such a SMALL glass of red wine at a restaurant before.

Therefore my rating for Haiku was average, and it just barely made an average rating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PWolfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ironton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suberb Sushi on High St!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have been to Haiku sushi several times because every visit is amazing! First time we sat at the bar taking it all in and happened to sit beside the owner. We were fortunate to sample tenderloin terryaki, a dish he created to see how it would do. OMG it was a savory splendor to the tongue!! Every dish I've ever had has exceeded expectations! For an appetizer I highly recommend the spicy calamari!!! It may not be on the menu, but is always expected to be ordered, for a reason!
I love that Haiku isn't a chain, and does sushi well! Will not disappoint!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Staff”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

When we moved to Columbus 2 years ago some friends brought us here for dinner. What a great experience. They have outstanding sushi and the staff goes out of their way. This is a great spot to start the gallery hop with dinner and drinks. We have been back several times and will continue to dine here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaddM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Japanese food in a city that knows from Japanese food!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Haiku strives to prepare and present Japanese food in a city that has been blessed with a now long-lived excellent Japanese dining tradition. I have been there and have had a great sushi dinner from time to time, but usually the food is pny average with dull shashmi and sushi nigri that is only ho-hum. The service seems spotty as well. They are mcuh better than SUshi ROck if you want to eat sushi and stay in the SHort North.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph43206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best sushi and ambiance!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My favorite sushi restaurant in town. Also, our go-to restaurant when we head down for gallery hop (first Saturday of every month). My preference is the warmer months to sit on the awesome patio, soak in the energy of gallery hop and all the great people.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jennifersunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haiku also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing