We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LUNCH SPOT”

Schmidt’s Sausage Haus und Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 54 Dessert in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This iconic German Village restaurant is the perfect place to celebrate with family and friends. For five generations we have been serving authentic German food. Our sausage has become so famous that the Bahama Mama has been voted the official food of Columbus and the building is registered as a historic landmark. Come take a trip around our Autobahn Buffet or, if you want something other than sausage, try one of our traditional German dinners. Of course, for dessert, you can have one of our half-pound jumbo cream puffs. Stop in today and celebrate with us!
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT LUNCH SPOT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The food is good. The atmosphere can get a little crowded and there may be a wait. But overall, I really enjoyed it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treasure_006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    565
    163
    37
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“fun place with nice atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The place has a jovial atmosphere and the food is delicious. My favorite is the knockwurst sausage. Their mustard and kraut is wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joefileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing German food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The food is great! The Bahama Mama sausage is a must, as well as a cream puff for desert. I live right around the corner and see people constantly flocking to Schmidt's. I always bring my family when they are in town, they absolutely love it, and appreciate the accordion play on Friday and Saturday nights. It never disappoints!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a winning choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

One of the areas good fun venues with great brats, Bahama Momas cream puffs and beer. An original and worth the trip. We visit often for good german food

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Overall OK at best. Honestly, it's a Cbus institution, so I'll round up. The Bahamas Mamma brat was OK, the rest of the food is.......basic at best. If you are looking for local options and high quality or "fancy" food isn't the goal, I would try Thurman's First.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustHonestReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmidt’s Sausage Haus und Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Schmidt’s Sausage Haus und Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing