We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday outing”

Barcelona Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Barcelona Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 2,222 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jaeger Street
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very good food. Wide menu variety. Each meal I have ever had at this location has been top notch. The atmosphere is very nice for a night on the town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2012familyvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    102
    27
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Hummas Plate in Columbus!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have had many and this is the best I've still had in Columbus! Very nice decor, a bit pricey but worth it- great happy hour!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Barcelona generally enjoys a good reputation here in Columbus. I've found it to be nothing special honestly. They do have a great outside patio. They last time I went, we ordered a cheese plate as an appetizer. For $16, we got one small slice of cheese witha cracker and a drop of sauce. The piaya is pretty good, but not exceptional. In short, each time I've gone there, it's decent, but not great for the cost.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sid0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Barcelona in German Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Barcelona Restaurant & Bar, in Columbus' German Village, is not to be missed.

The free valet parking is a nice start to your visit. Inside, the restaurant and bar space have an airy feel of spaciousness with tall ceilings, painted brick, leaded glass and lots of wood. The art covering the walls adds to the beauty of the room.

The outdoor patio seating was closed for the season but part of the space had been converted to a beautiful tented room that is used for private events like liquor and wine tastings.

The lunch menu had many interesting choices. The waiter-recommended sandwich choice was very good. The other options looked good as well -- so much so it was impossible to decide and we had to ask for a recommendation. You can see their menu offerings online at www.barcelonacolumbus.com.

The service was very good, although I was served regular potato instead of the sweet potato fries I ordered. This was a late lunch and my lunch companion and I were able to linger for a lengthy conversation without ever feeling pressured.

All of the staff were pleasant, friendly, outgoing and helpful.

I look forward to a return visit and highly recommend this restaurant. You won't regret giving your custom to Barcelona.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank synergyworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very good dinner and attentive service. They customized my wife's paella according to her taste and my seafood special was nicely done -- halibut, lobster and assorted shellfish and vegetables in a tasty broth. We sat near the back of the room, which is a good choice if you want relative quiet. Closer to the bar, the place can be a bit noisy when it's busy. The service might be a little overly-familiar for some people; the waiter kept referring to my wife as "my dear." I expect that in a diner or sports bar, but not in a fine dining establishment. Other than that small irritation, a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FBTreebranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Barcelona Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing