We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Good service!”
Review of Cap City Grandview

Cap City Grandview
Reserve with OpenTable
Cap City Grandview is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 2,230 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Cap City Fine Diner As with any diner, you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected and delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro cool, taste better than you remember and are showstopper sized.
Orlando
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food! Good service!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Great good! Always great service! Always makes our clients feel like they're being treated well! Love the veggie options!

Helpful?
Thank Punjcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    188
    55
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
271 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good meal, fast service, cold server”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I am a big fan of the Cap City in Gahanna, so don't get to this location very often. The food is just as good, and the speed with which it was served was admirable. I just wish our server had been a little less coldly professional and a little more warmly human.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Everything's Good”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Have been going here for years and was back with some out-of-town guests last week, and love that Cap City never disappoints. From all the reviews here you can see that the crab cakes, meatloaf, balsamic chicken and the desserts are always great, but even the simple cheeseburger is one of the best in town (not in the outrageous category that all the pubs are trying these days, though). That's what I found myself eating the other night while the two guys with me ordered the crab-crusted talapia and the balsamic chicken (of course). Everyone was pleased with their meals. Service was friendly and efficient. Beers and cocktails just right. A can't-miss favorite in the upscale diner category. The only drawback is the parking. Very small lot and a tight fit getting in and out for even the slenderest fashionistas. Park in the back or at the medical building next door or even the very good Columbus Fish Market lot a couple of doors down (but don't tell them I told you to). Try them out next time you're in town and want something a little fancier.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCSColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had dinner at this popular establishment last evening, before attending the Micheal Buble concert. The very crowded and extremely noisy dining room provided a less then desirable atmosphere. We have been at Cap City on several other occasions, but this time was different. The service was poor, the waiter was rude, and I can't believe the steak that was served came from a Cameron Mitchell restaurant! The baked potato that came with the steak was served 15 minutes after I received the steak, after the manager was notified. This restaurant will be a little less crowded next time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rolland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistency!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was or second trip to OSU and visit to this restaurant. It's part of the Cameron Mitchell group. Upscale food in a cool diner setting. The dinner rolls are one in a million. Fantastic meatloaf. delicious salads and efficient friendly service give this 5 stars!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRocks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap City Grandview also viewed

 

Been to Cap City Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing