We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Comfort Food on a Cold Night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cap City Diner--Grandview

Cap City Diner--Grandview
Reserve with OpenTable
Cap City Diner--Grandview is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 2,214 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food on a Cold Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visited the restaurant after recommendations from family. The wait time was way less than what the hostess had quoted us which is always a welcome surprise. We ordered the meatload dinner and a blue plate special of crabcrakes. My daughter ordered an older kids meal. It was great to have a bigger than normal portion of food for her and a selection was better than chicken nuggets. She was excited to be able to order salmon. Service was great and the meal was very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MBNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    183
    53
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cap City Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I have family in the Columbus area, and every time we are in town we go to Cap City. It's not a typical diner, a bit more upscale in my opinion. The food is always fantastic and service is great.

My personal recommendations for food are the blue cheese potato chips. The chips themselves are delicious and the maytag blue cheese and alfredo sauce is fantastic. The romano crusted chicken for an entree is the best, but get extra sauce. Lastly for dessert get the bread beading!

On the weekends there is always a wait for a table but worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stopped at the Cap City Diner before going to the Buckeyes game last Saturday. Someone suggested we try it when we were in town and he said the meatloaf was great. Meatloaf? Not something I would normally order in a restaurant, but it was delicious--easily the best meatloaf I have ever had (sorry, Mom). Not only was the food great but our waiter, Jeff, was top-notch. He explained the specialities and made suggestions and even gave us directions as we were leaving. We will certainly stop here avon the next time when we visit Columbus.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poem19girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Diner-esq, but not a diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This restaurant is intended to have the look and feel of a classic diner, be with a more upscale/casual food. It doesn't really have the vibe of a diner, but the food is also a lot better.

Much of the menu is filled with classic comfort food with a good variety of other choices.

The food is very good. Not extraordinary, but very good.

A good choice for a casual business lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoScreenName1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Overpriced average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family and I dressed for dinner, and when we walked in, we were obviously overdressed. The atmosphere is very casual/dirty, and the menu consists of things I usually make at home. After eating dinner, I realized that I actually do a better job making the meals we paid good money for. The evening was highly disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slumdogmillionairess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap City Diner--Grandview also viewed

 

Been to Cap City Diner--Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing