We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro Menu is a Winner”

The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 2,285 Restaurants in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Just west of Route 315
Description: An upscale dining experience with a very unique ambiance in 19th century historical building. Contemporary and classic French cuisine. Unparalleled service and a wine program unlike any other. In addition to Dining Room Menu; Wine Retail Store, Wine Tastings, Bistro Dining, Dinner Music Series No dress code required; dressy casual or business casual
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We chose The Refectory on a recent trip to Columbus. The Bistro Menu is served in the Bistro [bar] and at a price of $24 for a three course meal sounded tantalizing. To start we perused the vaunted wine list and chose a nice bottle of Oregon Pinot Noir for a reasonable price. We enjoyed some delicious bread and butter while we awaited our food. For our first course I enjoyed the split pea soup with crispy pork belly and my wife had a delicious seafood dish. We both chose the delicious chipotle marinated tenderloin for our main course. Desserts were good, especially the chocolate bread pudding. The Bistro Menu changes weekly so don't expect these food choices. We will certainly return to The Refectory on our next trip to Columbus to see what is new.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charliegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal B, Owner at The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Many thanks for joining us recently and we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions and your kind words of encouragement!

The Three-Course Bistro Menu is not as well known, a bit of hidden gem, so to speak, so we are so glad you discovered it!

For the future and a unique experience here, keep in mind the Jazz Dinner Clubs or if you like classical music the String Quartet events. Both are an entire evening of dining and entertainment that begin at 6 pm and go until about 9 pm. They are very popular and are limited to the first 36 guests. Reservations are accepted by phone only and the set Four-Course menu changes for every event, but we can make adjustments in advance based on your dietary concerns.
The line-up is on our website with the menus posted in advance.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and please don't hesitate to let me know if I can ever be of service to you in any way.

It is our pleasure and privilege to serve you,
Kamal Boulos
Owner
614-451-9774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 371 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Great place. The food and service is second to none. The menu featured "game" and the chef executed fantastically. The Antelope was excellent. Well wort the money!

Thank Johnathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal B, Owner at The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Many thanks for joining us recently. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we really appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions and your kind words of encouragement!

We look forward to seeing you again soon and please don't hesitate to let me know if I can ever be of service to you in any way.

It is our pleasure and privilege to serve you,
Kamal Boulos
Owner
614-451-9774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I have heard about The Refectory since icing to Columbus 11 years ago and finally made my way across town. It lived up to all expectations. First: an unsurpassed wine list. Second: great atmosphere--not stuffy at all. Third: excellent service--attentive but not intrusive. Fourth: excellent good prepared perfectly! An excellent choice for a special occasion.

1  Thank gefilte63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal B, Owner at The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Many thanks for joining us recently and we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your positive impressions, but don't wait another 11 years before you return!

We look forward to seeing you again soon and please don't hesitate to let me know if I can ever be of service to you in any way.

It is our pleasure and privilege to serve you,
Kamal Boulos
Owner
614-451-9774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Although this is not a cheap restaurant, the experience dining there is clearly worth it. The staff is very pleasant, professional and not judgmental at all. We were in another expensive restaurant here in Columbus and the waiter who served us made an impression of a bumptious person. Not like here - the waitresses and waiters are friendly, but not obtrusive, and food is always delicious. I especially enjoyed the dessert, which was very sophisticated and good. I love the atmosphere, too - relaxing and calm. For me - Number One in Columbus!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cosmopolitan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal B, Owner at The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Many thanks for joining us recently and we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. They are an added incentive to strive to make a very conscious effort to extend the warmth of hospitality to each and every guest as we would a guest in our home...that is the desire of our heart and service...

We look forward to seeing you again soon and please don't hesitate to let me know if I can ever be of service to you in any way.

It is our pleasure and privilege to serve you,
Kamal Boulos
Owner
614-451-9774
With respect to the price you mentioned, for a great value and different price, please join us for the mid-week Three-Course Bistro Menu for 23.95. Just ASK for the Bistro Menu when making reservations. This menu changes every week and is posted on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The reviews say it all about this place. It has a great atmosphere. The food is delicious. This is a top choice when we visit Columbus.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KDSoccer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal B, Owner at The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Many thanks for dining with us recently and we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us!
We would consider it an honor to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Columbus.

Please don't hesitate to let me know if I can ever be of service to you in any way.

It is our pleasure and privilege to serve you,
Kamal Boulos
Owner
614-451-9774

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Refectory Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing