We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hostel is located close to the Ohio State Campus and is in a convenient location for many activities, restaurants, and entertainment. I had no trouble finding the Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel and had a very pleasant welcome. The entire hostel is extremely clean while still keeping a nice, comfortable feel which makes you immediately feel like you are home. In fact, while I was checking in, another guest came in the door and she was greeted with, "Welcome home!"... I love that atmosphere. I booked a mixed dorm with 5 beds and my room was actually split in two with 3 beds in the spacious loft and two in the room below it. The bedding and towels were good quality and still in great condition. The bathroom was the cleanest bathroom I have ever seen in a hostel and it was quite spacious as well. The shower pressure was great and I did not have a problem getting hot water. On the main floor, there is plenty of space to relax with multiple couches and chairs, computers to use, TV, two kitchens which are fully equipped, bikes to borrow, a hot tub, a nice board with all sorts of local events and information, and I am sure I am forgetting something, but essentially this hostel has everything I could think of needing. There is a nice breakfast in the morning with delicious homemade bread. It was quiet and comfortable at night and I had no troubles relaxing and sleeping. There are parking spaces in the back of the hostel so I didn't have to bother trying to find street parking. You can obviously tell that the owners put great pride in their place and have done a lot of work to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay. I appreciate all of the extra thought and care they put into their hostel and I will definitely be staying at the Wayfaring Buckeye the next time I am in Columbus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
2
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tartu, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hi!
I loved staying at the Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel. I arrived on a sunny day and found the housekeeper sitting on a porch, drinking wine.. excellent! That's a perfect setting for a porch in a sunny day. I would have join him, if I hadn't had a friend with me.
The hostel is perfect place to stay: you have everything you need and even more: bed in a nice room, sheets, nice bathroom, internet, kitchen, all the utilities you need. But it's not all! You have self-baked bread, food for free in the fridge and the housekeeper makes you café, if you want. And there are bikes for you.
I would come back any time and recommend it to you any time. I wish that the hostel does well and can host people for a very long time.
Thank you, Tim, Mat and Mat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I came to Columbus for the 3 day rock on the range music festival and decided to stay at Columbus's only hostel. It has a great location in a nice leafy neighborhood minutes from Ohio State campus and Columbus Crew stadium where the music festival was taking place. On arrival i was greeted by Matt and Tim who immediately made me feel at home and gave me everything i needed. This hostel was one of the best i have stayed in. The amenities include free bike rental, 2 huge commercial style kitchens, Cable/netflix, Wifi, free computers, free breakfast and an awesome hot tub in the back yard where we had numerous bonfires and they even provided free marshmallow's and smores. This was a hit not only for me but a Brazilian girl who had her first smore. The dorm's are really comfortable and spacious and the bathrooms super clean. I enjoyed staying here so much i extended my stay by 3 days and had more time to explore Columbus which it turns out has allot to offer. Tons of great museums, an Awesome Zoo and water park and the fabulous North Market scratch the surface. I also enjoyed exploring the campus area, Short north and German village neighborhoods, downtown and the Scioto river parks around the city. All in all a great week in Columbus thanks to the Wayfaring Buckeye and its great team of Matt, Tim and dog Ziggy. Thanks for making my visit a special one. PS check out the Latino food truck a block and a half away!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanwillo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The guys at the Wayfaring Buckeye were super accommodating. The hostel itself has a very "at-home" feel and is nestled in a neighborhood near Ohio State's campus. Mat showed us a wonderful time during our one night there and did his best to show us the amazing scenes that Columbus has to offer. Needless to say, we fell in love with the city. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

P.S. There is a hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.0 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#3 of 143 in Columbus
617 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel

Property: Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel
Address: 2407 Indiana Ave, Columbus, OH 43202-3109
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing