We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Park that is a painting”
Review of Topiary Garden

Topiary Garden
Ranked #25 of 120 things to do in Columbus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Georges Seurat's "Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte" is recreated in a sculptured evergreen garden featuring larger-than-life human figures, animals and boats.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

What a unique beautiful park. Take Suerat's painting, the Island of Le Grande Jette, and make a topiary garden that matches the painting. Now you can actually be part of the painting and walk around in it. It is fun and really beautiful. There is a great gift shop there also. Adults, kids, garden lovers, artist....everybody loves this garden. A must see if you have time in Columbus.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank lesonechic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sunday afternoon"
in 45 reviews
"la grande jatte"
in 22 reviews
"georges seurat"
in 7 reviews
"actual painting"
in 3 reviews
"pretty park"
in 4 reviews
"nice walk"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful park"
in 7 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 5 reviews
"downtown columbus"
in 13 reviews
"parking meters"
in 3 reviews
"few blocks"
in 4 reviews
"take your time"
in 3 reviews
"museum of art"
in 4 reviews
"walk around"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop"
in 5 reviews
"paintings"
in 101 reviews
"picnic"
in 24 reviews
Filter

204 - 208 of 258 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

You can't have a "Ferris Bueller's Day Off day" in Columbus without seeing this park and its' topiary representation of this famous painting seen in that movie. Having seen the painting at the museum in Chicago, I was very interested to see this topiary garden and was not at all disappointed.

It's hard to understand why such a beautiful park isn't more well known, especially since it has the topiary garden. Had I realized how beautiful and pleasant it is, we would have considered this a must-stop downtown destination years ago, when we lived in Columbus.

There is ample parking around the perimeter, many spots are in the shade of grand old trees. Most of the stately old buildings around the park are also worth seeing. When planning to visit this, I thought we would only be there for a few minutes, but spent almost an hour taking it all in and walking around the trees and pathways. If you feel like sitting down, there are many benches in various locations, and many grand old trees with soft, inviting grass throughout the park.

Sadly, the gift shop/museum building was not open when we visited, around 4 PM on a Thursday afternoon, mid-June.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank Tiffany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Topiary Park is seriously pretty. I went with my cousin and her small children who enjoyed it a LOT! There were baby ducks there at the time of my visit, so of course they were adorable. I would recommend bringing your camera when you visit. It is such a unique attraction. Definitely make a point to visit if you're in the area.

Before you go, if you are not familiar with it, be sure to check out George Seurat's painting, A Sunday Afternoon on the Isle of La Grand Jatte. The painting inspired James T. Mason's vision for the park in the late 80's.

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank Samanthemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a wonderful place to take children - the topiary makes the garden seem like a magical world where anything in a storybook coming to life is possible. It is very close to downtown, the parking is plentiful, and it is a great way to spend an hour or so on a trip to Columbus. All ages will enjoy the place, but especially kids!

Date of experience: September 2012
Thank rpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very nicely put park. It is worth your time to visit and have a walk in the park. I love the place. The trees are awesome. The area is quite and nice...

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Topiary Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing