We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Road Construction but a very nice city”
Review of Downtown Columbus

Downtown Columbus
Ranked #23 of 152 things to do in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lots of Road Construction but a very nice city”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our first time visiting Columbus, Ohio. We came to Columbus to visit the Zoo. We drove into Columbus several times from our hotel in Polaris and it was a nightmare. Traffic was terrible. It seemed that every road we traveled on was under construction. The highways were congested and a bit scary at times. We used Bing maps to find an alternative route to travel to get around. That made things a bit better. We loved the city. Very clean and once you got down into the city, it was very easy to navigate through. The German Village area of town was pretty. Would have spent more time in the city if it wasn't for the road construction.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunchlady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    55
    25
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Amazing,I love downtown Columbus,Ohio and so will u .You will not want to leave Columbus,Ohio at all.Downdown is filled with alot of love,beauty,amazing sight's,thing's to do.You have so many places and sight's to check out.Columbus,Ohio Downtown is BEAUTIFUL,gone and visit,You will be $o happy and have so much fun.

Helpful?
Thank Blessed73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Busy!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Busy in the evenings but lots of fun. Plenty of places to dine in, snack or just grab an ice cream! Great for people watching.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oska551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sad”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

If you are in the Arena District---downtown looks fun and hopping. However, where downtown used to thrive--near the Statehouse and City Center, the shops are abandoned, and instead of putting something that would draw conventioneers and tourists there (like the Casino or another mall), they put in another park. In the suburb we live in outside of Columbus, we have 14 parks. Why would I drive downtown to take my kids to a park? Seems like it was just a political "gimme" to someone--the old downtown is dead.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bravehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Go see the capitol building.”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

So... I was at a week-long seminar in the area and had a few hours to kill with friends before our flights departed. We all decided to see what there was in downtown Columbus. Ohio state capitol? Sure, let's go see it...

It was a fantastic experience. No, it's not the Louvre or Palacio Nacional, but it's free and it's great fun inside. We were there on a day when the legislature wasn't in session, so we pretty much had run of the place. Private doors were locked, but all the halls were accessible. The internal architecture and designs are quite pleasing and there's a neat whisper point underneath the capitol dome.

It took about half an hour to run all over the insides, and then we came to the basement. There's a small, but highly enjoyable museum in the basement and what really drew us in - a gang of history teachers, mind you - was an interactive exhibit about balancing the state budget from different points of Ohio's history. I never knew before how much Ohio used to have to spend on firewood to keep its buildings open through the year.

Outside of the capitol was the most important and moving part of the capitol area. There are gardens to beautify the grounds. In those gardens, by the rear entrance to the capitol, are monuments to Ohioan soldiers' last letters home. Some are jubilant: "I'm coming home!" Most, however, are letters sent home after a final, ultimate sacrifice.

We couldn't help but cry at many of these. It is an overwhelming experience, but well worth having. Instead of having a few hours to while away, we participated in a realization of what was most important to say for one's last words.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank zzzptm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Columbus also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing