We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sports Teams Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbus/Rickenbacker
Ranked #66 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This hotel is great if you are adult travelers for the airport. Otherwise you definitely want something else. We were there for a baseball tournament and our team arrived after playing in 95 degree weather tired and ready to swim and get checked in. We arrived at 1:20 and was told there would be no check in until 3:00 (pointed at the sign to remind us that was the official check in). After questioning the most pleasant woman and manager (being sarcastic here) how could all the rooms be ready at exactly 3:00 they just replied that was check in time. Can our kids at least swim? Absolutely not since we are not check in. At 2:40 they announced "OK we are now ready to begin checking in" the lobby was packed with parents and players. Yikes! What a nightmare! We checked in on a Thursday and discussed with the Manager about our Sat. stay and we would not know until sometime Sat. after we win or lose whether or not we would be staying Sat. He then began to inform me that they lost THOUSANDS of dollars due to the contract they agreed to with our teams and we needed to cancel today by 4:00 if we were not staying on Sat. night. Ok, today is Thursday at 3:00 and we had to tell him if we were staying Sat. night. Apparently we had a 48hr. cancellation policy. Are you kidding me??? This was the manager no less. This hotel chain needs to get staff that understands customer service. BUT let me say they had ther #1 employee Clark on duty in the evening and first thing Saturday morning. He was awesome. Since they had no internet the entire time we were there we had to have Clark check continuously to see when we played the next day. This guy ran two computers checking play schedules, answering the phone to book guests, and handled everyone at the counter. This guy should be the manager, he understood customer service. . As far as the location it had a lot to be desired. , it was an easy 20-25 min. drive one way to a restaurant and 45 min. to over 1 hour one way to our fields. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was decent for the boys. I would make this your last choice of hotels if you are a travel sports team.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 626 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

OTR truck driver - wanted a night out of the truck. Didn't check in until 11:30 PM by the time I finally found the hotel. Not convient location. Price was ok,. Didn't have to leave until 6 PM following day. Inquired re late check out. Told could stay until 1 PM. Also total 1/2 day would be 1/2 of price paid for room. Desk cleark said check out was 2:00. Told him 'oh won't be their anywhere that long. A half day until 2 AM very generous - right? WRONG! At 2:59 PM received call saying check out was 2 PM. So 1 hour would have cost me 1/2 price of the room! By then too late to change plans so ended up paying for 2 whole nights. Clerk was very aware that he didn't explain this. Got me this time but will never stay at Baymony again. Dislike crooks.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I blind-booked this hotel via Hotwire desiring to be near that section of I-270. Instead, I got this hotel, which is not that close to I-270, but rather services an airport with virtually no passenger flights. Still, the hotel was more than half full, even on a Tuesday night. I'm assuming that the typical guest must be a guest, laborer or employee of the numerous local industries. Consequently, this hotel has a very limited function.

Still, it's a good hotel. It's a newish property, with a nearly identical floor plan to the nearby Canal Winchester Best Western. The hotel is squeaky clean. Check in went smooth, even though I arrived well after midnight. The room was basic, but comfortable. The bed was fine. It was late, so I didn't use the tv.

The next morning, the breakfast was OK. It was mostly carbs, but did have sausage in a catering tray. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I couldn't resist from myself writing a review about this hotel. The staff is unbelievably helpful. I forgot my golden ring in the bathroom of the hotel and I totally lost hopes before I called them. To my surprise they said that they stored it in a safe place after I checked out and they said that they can post it. I got the ring today and wanted to give 5 thumbs up for this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adusumalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel, and was not satisfied in any way, they were under-staffed, and two of there so called "managers" both smelled like marijuana and were acting ridiculous. I was extremely upset, apparently this isn't a place were families are welcome, I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarabell1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

This hotel is now called The Baymont Rickenbacker. Its a bit outside the city of Columbus, but right on the airport grounds (not the main columbus airport, but the smaller cargo/charter/private flight airport). The hotel itself was pretty clean and the rooms ok,, generic Baymont style I guess, maybe a little older, but definatly clean. The staff was also friendly. The grounds were nothing special, just a bunch of open fields, parking lots and airport roads. Nothing in walking distance (food, etc) For the price, I was satisfied and would return if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mugsydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2005

great stay. room was clean

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank disneyfanOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#60 of 144 in Columbus
166 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Suites
Best Western Suites
#17 of 144 in Columbus
380 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ramada Columbus Polaris
Ramada Columbus Polaris
#83 of 144 in Columbus
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus Airport East
18.5 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#79 of 144 in Columbus
324 reviews
15.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Columbus/Rickenbacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Columbus/Rickenbacker

Address: 2323 Rickenbacker Parkway West, Columbus, OH 43217-5003 (Formerly "AmeriHost Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $81 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Columbus/Rickenbacker 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Columbus/Rickenbacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Columbus
Columbus Baymont Inn
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbus/Rickenbacker Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing