We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a fabulous stay over this past weekend! Initially we were put in a room with a view of an indoor courtyard. Really disliked that as I'd at least like to be able to look outside. Immediately called the front desk to see if another room was available. They were very courteous however nothing was currently available as other rooms were still being cleaned. They offered that if we were willing to wait they could move us. I kindly declined as it wasn't that big of a deal to us, hung up the phone and didn't think anything of it. Within a minute or so they called us back and said they would upgrade us to a suite room with an outdoor view at no additional charge! Good going Drury!!! We didn't expect a room upgrade but it was appreciated!!!

The room was very clean and everything was in working order. Very spacious. The eating area for snacks and breakfast was also clean. Average food nothing to rave about but nothing to complain about either. The typical Drury Inn fare. The 3 free drinks per person is a super nice bonus!!

The location can't be beat! Overall, a great place to stay and when compared to other downtown hotels is a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angieinoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    159
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
141
70
17
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

It's hard to argue with 3 free drinks at happy hour, along with substantial snacks that you can make a meal of. On top of that there is free breakfast, free internet, friendly staff, and a feel-good atmosphere. At this location, it does cost $12/night for parking, but that makes sense given the downtown setting. Otherwise, affordable and genuinely all-inclusive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelswithPets60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a rare find that will be overlooked by many when booking a hotel in Columbus. The hotel is situated in a good location - near the Convention Center, near the Short North, near a highway, near Nationwide and near the Arena. The amenities are unmatched - free social hour (kick back), indoor/outdoor pool, snacks every night, breakfast, pets welcomed, free long distance (limited), reasonable parking and friendly staff. However, the rooms are the best part. Spacious, great decor, updated bathroom, large TV's, etc,,,

The only problems are Drury's rewards program isn't as valuable as the other chains, the carpets are stained (from OSU partiers, I guess), and the breakfast is a little low budget.

However, this is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 8th floor if you don't like smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy_and_lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel has gone to great lengths to ensure a great stay. Hearty free breakfast, free cocktails (3 per night)accompanied by very hearty fare: chips, pretzels, tacos, but also pasta, meat balls, hot dogs, even salad and carrots/celery for veggie freaks like me. Spacious, pleasant room, comfortable bedding, free wi-fi, sparkling bathroom. Also a pool and fitness room. Connected to the convention center with indoor walkways, really welcome option in inclement weather. Stay here!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheatreCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Located steps from Convention Center, and a short walk to the many nice bars/restaurants/shops of the "Short North" strip of North High Street.

Hotel is not the most modern, but makes up for that with unfailingly cheerful and helpful staff, great amenities like free breakfast, free evening cocktails and snacks, free wi-fi, free parking... when so many hotels these days are charging for these services as "extras" the Drury Inn stands ahead of its peers in value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have large conference tables in them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank defaultusername123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Drury has many positives: The hotel was clean, the halls and lobby quiet, a friendly staff (front desk clerk recommended a local place to eat that was delicious), and the hotel is in a part of town near many amenities. Though I didn't take advantage of the 5:30 Kickback, it is nice that they offered guests several complimentary alcoholic beverages. That's the first time I ever encountered that.

The negatives are: While I think their evening drink service (5:30 Kickback) could be improved by having more than one beer selection and perhaps having some spirits available, my biggest problem though, was the bed. I need a mattress with some support and the mattress in my room offered none. It was simply too soft. I managed some sleep, but woke several times due to a sore back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dj_daddy_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked a large block of rooms here for the 2012 BeardCon held at the convention center. The planners were friendly, and we got a great deal on our room, not to mention the other 24 people that stayed at the hotel. The beds were great, the bathroom was very clean, and while we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, the cable selection was good. The furnace was quick to cool down or warm up the room, and the front desk staff was more than accomodating - especially after I left my car in the garage an extra day due losing my keys - ack! With the amount of bearded guys that were in the hotel for this stay, they were ultra nice and even commented on the event. At the same time, there was a Brad Paisley concert, a huge OSU game, and even a hair convention going on and the front desk staff wasn't even fluffed, they handled it all like pros. The hot breakfast was delicious (not to mention FREE) and the vicinity of this place to the convention center (literally connected by a walkway) was phenomenal for all of the people who had drank a little too much. Not to mention it was within a short walk of Columbus' Short North district, which has a lot of great shops, bars, and restaurants to explore.
Most people go out of their way to spend more, but I find the more I spend the less I get in Columbus. I've stayed at about 5 different hotels in the Columbus downtown area, and my stay with the Drury Inn was by far the cheapest and the best I've had at any hotel around. Can't give it enough praise!

Room Tip: All rooms are fairly well insulated from the noise, however I would try very hard to get a room far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#14 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
2.6 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Address: 88 E. Nationwide Blvd., Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Columbus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#8 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Located in the heart of Downtown and adjoining the Greater Columbus Convention Center, the Drury Inn & Suites makes it easy to check-in and head out to explore all Columbus has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Drury Hotels Company, LLC so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Columbus Convention Center
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Hotel Columbus
Drury Inn Columbus
Drury Inn Hotel Columbus
Drury Columbus
Columbus Drury
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing