We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service failed to meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport
Ranked #25 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Service failed to meet expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I frequently stay in a Garden Inn (Hhonors Gold) because of consistent service, food and accommodations. The Hilton Garden Inn at the Columbus, OH airport met my expectations with regard to food and accommodations but not service. I checked in late on Sunday, October 23 for a two night stay. Monday morning I tried to access my email before my first appointment only to find that wireless signal was all but non existent. No problem since I had an Ethernet cable and there were instructions sitting in the middle of the desk about using a wired connection. No luck since I found there was no wired connection. I stopped by the front desk on the way out and identified myself by name and room number. I indicated that there was a problem and I would really need internet access in the afternoon. She said that they were aware of a problem but I could sign on to the Hampton Inn site (they share a parking lot) and she provided me with the sign-on. Came back in the afternoon and found that the Hampton Inn site wasn’t even an option. Call to the front desk and a different clerk indicated that I was on the wrong side of the hotel to access the Hampton site. He also indicated that the Garden Inn had been having problems for some time. He asked me to give him 20 minutes and he would get me a room across the hall. I got involved in another call for about 45 minutes and heard nothing from the front desk. Went down to the desk. Clerk indicated that they didn’t have a room clean. Very poor customer service since the front desk already knew I needed to move and had also committed to a 20 minute wait. Clerk called housekeeping and found a room. I indicated to him that I was very disappointed about the level of service and asked that he pass on my disappointed to the general manager. Either that never happened or the general manager didn’t care since there was no follow-up. For me customer service sets the tone of a property. The staff knew the problem existed but did nothing until it was raised as a problem by the guest. Not a very proactive position to take!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    158
    75
    43
    14
See reviews for
102
71
43
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

If you want a convenient reasonably priced place to sleep in while visiting Columbus this is pretty good. It is not fancy and there is nothing close to it but the airport and a McDonalds but for a couple of nights rest at a decent rate it will work. It is literally 1/4 mile from the runway, but the airplane noise was not nearly as bad as I feared.

The room was bigger than expected and seemed very clean. The TV selections are standard, the wifi is ok if a little slow and the "fitness center" is one broken treadmill, an elliptical trainer and a small weight machine. All the staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast is fine, if a bit overpriced, but as I said above your choices close by are limited.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colobrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

I've always been a fan of Hilton Garden Inns. They have free internet, free breakfast and usually good pools. This particular HGI had kind of a lousy indoor pool but the internet and breakfast were good. They have a free shuttle to the airport and a different free shuttle to a surrounding commercial area. The airport shuttle is timely and reliable; the area shuttle was not so reliable when I was there. But no matter. I stayed there to catch an early flight home. Mission accomplished.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitch7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stay here fairly often when working in Columbus. It never disappoints. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. This is a basic business hotel. I know what to expect and they always deliver. The restaurant is good with cook to order breakfast. I am not a big fan of Lodgenet, the TV service used in the hotel.

Room Tip: If internet is important, ask at the desk for a room close to a hub. Service is spotty
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

First, for reference, I am a Hilton Diamond Hhonors traveler. I do around 90 nights a year in hotels, mostly Hiltons.

So I checked into this Garden Inn. Typically Garden Inns are newer and clean. This one is newer for sure. But it sits at the end of a runway and is noisy. It's across the street from mcdonalds so it's smelly.

My room, a king bed as requested, had dirty water coming through the bathroom ceiling. Yeah. That kind of water to judge by the smell and color.

I immediately went to the desk to get a new room and thus found myself in a handicap accessible room with two doubles. I don't fit in doubles. So it was either the sewage or a too-small bed. I took the tiny bed.

I also noted the bed(s) were not the adjustable type standard in Garden Inns. Just a plain old cheapo mattress with dingy off-white bedding.

Nice place. Nice for somebody else that is. I wouldn't stay here again on a dare.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoFLme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Management doesnt abide by Hiltons policy that diamond members are not required to produce credit cards upon check-in.

Hotel is not kept in top notch conditions

Hallways has the typical stench of deferred maintenance.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank benfen6293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
505 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Standard HI GI, setup amenities and very good service. Room had an air conditioning problem on checkin, immediately solved.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus Airport
Hampton Inn Columbus Airport
#23 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus Airport
2.1 mi away
Columbus Airport Marriott
Columbus Airport Marriott
#21 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus Airport
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Airport
Courtyard Columbus Airport
#61 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Columbus Ohio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport
Address: 4265 Sawyer Rd, Columbus, OH 43219-3812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Columbus
#31 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport Hotel Columbus
Hilton Columbus
Columbus Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus Airport Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing