We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center
Ranked #93 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Stayed a single night while on business in the area. Clerk offered to recommend restaurants for dinner in the area; she was knowledgeable enough to send me to an outstanding ethnic eatery place and even printed directions for me. Room was fresh and clean, not noisy, appliances functioned just fine, had a restful night's sleep. Manager and all staff I met were friendly, solicitous and professional.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 201 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel several times and have always felt safe and welcome. Surrounding areas are part of student housing and may look unsafe, however, campus assures safety of students. I have stayed at several hotels in the Columbus area and will highly recommend this location. The front desk and staff are always friendly and very willing to go the extra step to accomodate any needs that their customers may have. Rooms are always VERY clean. Ammenities are basic.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

The hotel is not located in the best part of town, and seems to be a bit less than what I'd expect from the Holidy Inn brand. Parking is poor and doesn't look very secure (at least a fence along the street would be nice). There is an indoor pool but the excercise equipment in the gym isn't kept up very well. The hotel is clean as expected however I would expect more given the name and the price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattmoss79, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2009

I'm sorry that we fell short of your expectations, we strive to make every stay with us an enjoyable one. Our hotel is located in an urban campus housing environment. We do have plans to install a fence along the street but that will not be completed till later in the year if all goes as planned. We at the Holiday Inn Express OSU and Expo center pride ourselves on offering the best possible guest service experience. The parking lot is monitored 24 hours a day by cctv and staff as well. I thank you for taking the time to filling out this info, and hope that you are willing to give us another chance. Thanks again.
K. M. Cieslak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We were booked here through Hotwire and found the location perfectly suited to our needs. I was a bit surprised at the 3 star rating. I stayed at the HI-X at Sunnyside-Queens a couple of years ago and think that was 2.5. [Shrug.] At any rate, the staff were unfailingly polite and friendly, and the premises were clean and comfortable. Unlike typical rooms these days, our room's two beds were queens, not doubles. This is something I greatly value and appreciate. Four adults can camp out reasonably comfortably. Another addition to creature comfort is the bedding, with good mattresses, options of soft or firm pillows, and nice downy coverlets. As well, as I recalled from Sunnyside, the towels were well above the usual, nice and thick. One final distinctive amenity, also apparently a HI-X signature, the toiletries were unscented. Those with sensitivities can use them rather than having to bring their own. The breakfast bar had some hot items as well as the usual continental items though they don't constitute a hot breakfast. Warm cinnamon buns were a yummy touch. More fresh fruit would be welcome. The breakfast area was roomy, comfortable, and inviting, as well as managed to a high standard by the main floor's attentive housekeeper. About the only thing visitors may wish to know is that the hotel is on a narrow road in an older, modest, lower income residential neighborhood, but the homes are well-maintained, single-family, likely owner-occupied and not barred up. I doubt there is much by way of shopping close by though. We stayed at a Hotwire rate of $74/night before tax, a splendid deal.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

we stay at hotels at least 12 times a year for work... i'm a 31 yr old female, traveling with my 65 yr old mother...

after driving around the hotel's tiny parking lot looking for a space large enough to hold our 12ft box truck (parking lots is ridiculously small- no room for oversized vehicles), we finally decided to back into 2 parking spaces in the front of the hotel. there we were greeted by a filthy homeless man walking down the street and repeatedly asking us for spare change. he wouldn't take no for an answer and followed us around the truck and parking lot for longer than we felt comfortable with. (and he was drooling!)

this hotel is on the edge of a ghetto. we drove around the surrounding neighborhood looking for somewhere to grab dinner before checking in, we ended up eating out of the vending machine.... the surrounding area was THAT bad. you couldn't pay me to stop and eat anywhere near the hotel.

the rooms appeared to be very clean, but don't judge a book by it's cover... we left with bites all over our bodies, could be bed bugs, could be scabies- hopefully we'll find out after our dr appointment tomorrow.

stay here at your own risk... you've been warned.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jarrick00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

My wife and I were taking a road trip from Kansas city to Cleveland and we stayed one night at this hotel. I chose this particular hotel because my family usually stays in Holiday Inn's whenever we need to stay in a hotel, and it was right off of I-71. Check-in went very smoothly, the front desk staff were all very very nice. The general condition of the room was very good and the hotel itself was very nice (we had a non-smoking room). We went out to downtown Columbus for dinner which was convenient because it was only 5 minutes away. I did see peoples comments about the area, however we had no problems at all. The hotel is right off of the freeway so it wasn't like we had to drive through any local streets to get to it. The hotel had a good amount of people checked in that night due to the state fair close by, and there were mostly families and professional people staying. Checkout went smoothly, and the breakfast was on par with most Holiday Inn Express's I have stayed at. In the end I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jsalesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattmoss79, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2008

We thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. A lot of the negative feed back we had received was under previous management. That has since changed by the time you had come to stay with us. We do value your opinion and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely Guest Service Manager
Karl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

I've stayed at over 50 holiday inn expresses over the years. Some have been okay some have been exceptional. First off this was horrible. I wanted to cry upon arival. This place is NOT in a good area. If you are a single female traveling by yourself, by no means stay here, especially if you are by yourself and arriving at night. The building around it have gang writings all over them. The inside is okay. We got in at around 830 and the guy that was working the front desk was absolutely the rudest person ever. I didn't get his name but it wasn't fun. He was disrespectful at best. The breakfast was okay standard Holiday Inn express breakfast and the breakfast lady was nice ass well. The housekeeper who cleaned are room was very friendly as well she had just started and said the owners were new. Maybe there is hope that they changed things around and are making it better. The rooms looked old but were fairly clean. I still have never been treated that bad before in a service industry though. Not to mention the creepiness of the area. I just really would strongly advise going somewhere not on the east side, or closer to the airport if you are going to be staying in Columbus. Not this area! And they need a new night auditor who isn't so rude, I really hope he reads this because I was so offended at the way me and my daughters were treated by him!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jess05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
1.9 mi away
Marriott Columbus University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus University Area
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
1.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center

Address: 701 E Hudson St, Columbus, OH 43211-1034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $102 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Ohio State University and Expo Center hotel features complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, breakfast bar, indoor pool, fitness room and a meeting room. We also feature a variety of suite rooms including Jacuzzi and executive suites. The Holiday Inn Express Ohio State University and Expo Center hotel is located 1/2 mile from the Ohio Expo Center and Fairgrounds, Crew Stadium, and Ohio Historical Society as well as 1.3 miles from The Ohio State University. Our hotel is less than 5 minutes from downtown Columbus, the Columbus Convention Center and the Port Columbus International Airport (CMH) is a short 10 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ohio State Fair/Expo Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Columbus
Holiday Inn Express Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing