We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center
Nearby Hotels
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$127
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$127
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
78
60
28
15
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
60
28
15
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshudson streetroom was cleanfront deskpancake makerbad neighborhoodfresh paintequine affairethe ohio statefairgroundshieassociatemicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 203 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Hudson Street with a large group of friends while in town for a Columbus Crew game. The hotel is located an approximate mile from Crew Stadium - a quick drive, or a short hike around the corner.
The staff was very friendly and accomidating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. And, the value was unbeatable. Continental breakfast is served in the morning for your convenience.
My only complaint would have been with the view.
We'll stay here every time we visit Crew Stadium.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandTime78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnexpress06, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased to see that you had an awesome experience while coming to the Crew Stadium and staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Ohio State Fair/Expo Center. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the fabulous, kind, cheerful, helpful, and all around great staff; I will be certain to pass along your compliments to the rest of the team. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations regarding the view. We appreciate your return business to our property, please let the front desk staff know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

First off the staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Nice size rooms, updated, clean, and comfortable. Price of room was on par ans better value than other stays I have had elsewhere. Free breakfast is what you would expect, grab a bite and hd yourself over. Pool indoor, clean but, small. Workout room has 3 pieces of equipment all in good working.g order. I would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clpjr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnexpress06, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the world via tripadvisor.com. My team truly appreciates your feedback and is thrilled that you were pleased with your stay, at the Holiday Inn Express Ohio State/Expo Center.
We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Thank you for making us your hotel of choice upon your future visits to Columbus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Every year we attend a Columbus Crew Ultimate Tailgate game. THis year 19 of us made the trek to Columbus and we chose this Holiday Inn Express due to its extream proximity to Crew Stadium.
The staff was incredibly nice and all service was prompt. We had 5 gentlemen per room (2 Queen beds and a roll away), and for the most part all was well. Rooms were clean and presentable (I have stayed in 'nicer' Holiday In Expresses but this was by no means a bad hotel), stocked, etc. The one issue we had was one of the rooms A/C did not work, and by the time we got back from the game/pub crawling afterward it was very late in the AM and not worth haggling for a new room
Other than a few unhappy chaps who passed out in their room which was quite warm, we were happy.
.

Room Tip: This Hotel is less than .5 miles from the Crew stadium. You can easily walk there (as we did). For the $$$ and location, that is hard to beat.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaximilianRockefellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This property has all the comforts of the usual Holiday Inn Express, but it was about $30 cheaper than other Holiday Inn Expresses in Columbus when we stayed there on Aug. 18. The building is new, clean and quiet, but just a little bit plain. The breakfast room was also a little crowded. It is located near the Expo Center, Crew soccer stadium, and only about 15 minutes from the Ohio State campus (depending on traffic, of course).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnexpress06, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ex I-71/ Oh. State Fair/Expo Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Ohio State Fair/Expo Center Columbus. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and are glad you were able to take advantage of the convenience of our location. We are just blocks away from the Ohio State Expo Center, Crew soccer stadium, and minutes from the Ohio State University campus. We sincerely thank you for your business and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

First of all, people need to be aware that this hotel is NOT in a good part of town. There were bars on the windows and razor-wired fencing on the shops all around this hotel, and there were some really creepy people walking around the area. Unfortunately, by the time we got there it was already past 6 pm and it was too late to cancel our reservations without being charged. We actually got up a couple of times during the night just to make sure our car was still there and not broken into.

We did like the fact that they had cookies available at check-in, and the gentleman working the counter was polite. Our room was OK, nothing fancy, but it was at least clean. The breakfast, however, was a completely different story....

We've been Priority Club members for close to 25 years and have been to many Holiday Inn locations across the U.S. This breakfast was by far the worst we've ever encountered. Where to begin.... we got there early in the breakfast period and it was not busy at all. However, the refrigerator, which would normally be full of eggs, yogurt, and drink cartons was practically empty (see picture). There was ONE biscuit available for biscuits & gravy, and the gravy was cold. The warmer above the bacon and omelettes was apparently not working, because the bacon was ice cold (actually colder than the orange juice, interestingly enough) also. The omelettes were cold and stale, as the cheese was not even melted inside the omelette (see other picture). The orange and apple juices were watery and undrinkable. The bagels were stale and the cream cheese was warm with a yellowish liquid around the inside perimeter of the container....apparently they didn't read the label that said "keep refrigerated". The Cheerios were stale and tasted like they had been in the container for a few too many months. In addition, there was a poster that said "Hot Pancakes Daily" and....there were no pancakes. Bad, bad, bad breakfast (the only good thing was the pre-made cinnamon rolls).

And whatever happened to getting a USA Today newspaper? We never received one, and when we asked, they told us that they were out of them. Which was surprising, because the hotel did not seem that busy.

This hotel was WAY overpriced for the room and services received. I've noticed that the management of this hotel likes to read these reviews, comment on them, and apologize for shortcomings. I would think after so many poor reviews that the management would make the necessary changes rather than simply apologizing and then staying with the status quo. After all, actions speak louder than words.

Room Tip: Here's a suggestion....STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!! If you must stay here, do not stay on the ground floor since the back door is never locked, even though the sign outside says it is locked 24 hrs/day.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Gizmo311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews