We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel Gem in Columbus Ohio”
Review of The Blackwell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blackwell
Ranked #3 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I just spent a glorious time at the Blackwell in Columbus. An incredible location touching the OSU campus and across the street from the famous Horsheshoe. A first class hotel with a gorgeous lobby, extremely well appointed rooms, and professional staff. Manager Eric Adelman provided welcoming touches in the room and complete satisfaction during our stay. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The Executive Level rooms are fabulous, with work areas, sitting room, a mini kitchen.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for The Blackwell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 624 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

New Hotel, so very Clean. The Staff was extremely friendly and very attentive. Nice to have Hotel Staff that is not burned out. We felt like the staff were happy to be of service to us. The hotel has complimentary valet parking. The guys working valet were happy and helpful. They unloaded our bags, offered to have someone take the luggage to the room. The car was parked in a parking garage. The hotel offered a free shuttle around the area. We called for our car to be brought up as we were checking out. The valet had it ready and waiting, and even loaded our luggage all while smiling. During our stay we enjoyed the hot breakfast buffet in the Restaurant. It had many choices of hot items, cold items, beverages. The hotel was a little more costly then we usually spend but it was well worth it. The area around the hotel is very well lit, perfect for an evening stroll. As far as the room, Air Conditioning in the room worked very well, which was such a relief since it was so hot and humid while we were there. Room was perfect, we had a great nights sleep. Great Pizza delivered to the Hotel per the Valets suggestions. "CatFish Biffs"

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elsie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Our family has food allergies, we ordered room service twice and was very happy with the concern the staff showed.
Also, we forgot our little ones favorite stuffed animal in the room and the staff is overnighting it to us as we speak!
Room was very clean. Front desk staff was welcoming.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Alissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The good
1Large comfy rooms
2.Very friendly staff at check in.
3.Good weight room for a hotel
4.You can get room service late(which is good because the only other place that is open late around there is the Varsity club bar, which smelled when I walked in to eat)
5.The beds were comfortable

The not so good.
I felt like when I arrived I was pressured into paying for valet parking. We had just finished a full day of driving, so I decided to pay the 17 bucks(maybe it was 14). As it turns out the garage is right next door to the hotel. I would suggest to others they park themselves.

Overall I would recommend The Blackwell.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank oliverlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night to attend a show at The Schott (it's within walking distance). The front staff were very nice. The room was a studio suite with a king bed and vaulted ceilings. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. There were two desks along one of the walls. There was a small dining table. The bathroom was a normal size but well appointed. We ordered room service and the food was excellent. Overall, it was a great hotel to stay in and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was there for a conference. The conference was at the building next door so it was great. The housekeeping was fantastic. More like 5 star. They have turn service around 4pm, turn on the music and set the mood in the room. Left some chocolate and also words or wisdom every day.
I left my Sony video recorder in the safe. Elyse Jergens, Executive Housekeeper got UPS to deliver it to me in Singapore!
The concierge was great too. One of the boys drove me to a near by pizza place when I wanted pizza. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our family stayed here 2 nights, 3 rooms. Great time! The room size, amenities, and fitness room were outstanding. The wedding onsite was terrific! We ordered off the breakfast menu which was great too! Loved everything about the hotel. Friendly staff. Went for a run down by the river. So close to all of campus!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTaveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,679 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#10 of 143 in Columbus
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#14 of 143 in Columbus
1,839 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Pl, Columbus, OH 43210-1137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: $176 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing