We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Blackwell
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varsity Inn(Columbus)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveler rating
503
127
29
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
127
29
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsosu campusohio statebusiness schoolfootball stadiumtown carturn down servicevalet parkingdesk spacegreat hotelvalet serviceschottenstein centerplace to staymile radiusnice amenitieswork spaceroom servicerooms are large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 667 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Blackwell far exceeds any 5 star hotel I have ever stayed at. It is by far my favorite hotel in Columbus. The friendliest staff you will find at any hotel, impeccable housekeeping, and comfortable rooms. The Blackwell should be the standard for 5 star hotels.

Room Tip: I never request a room with a view because all of the Blackwell rooms are so superior to any other hotel that the view doesn't matter. It is located on OSU campus and so it is quite easy to walk the campus. Even if you get a view of the parking garage, it is fun to watch the students below running/walking around.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at a Four Seasons, 5-star, in another city before traveling to Columbus for a four-day vacation. The Blackwell blows away the Four Seasons. Staff looks like student interns from Ohio State and they are fantastic. Everything about the hotel... cleanliness, bedding, bathroom, valet parking, furniture... was first class. We'll stay here every time we are in Columbus. The rate, for a four day stay, was $100 less than the Four Seasons. Great hotel, exceptional prices. And if, like us, you want to visit alma mater Ohio State during your stay, perfect location... right on campus. Very close to Short North, campus area, High Street. We loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have stayed in a number of hotels because of my business travel and this is the place to stay if you are visiting or have business at Ohio State. The staff are the true asset! The rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant exceeded my expectations. First class facility!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SisterSister2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you need to do business or visit THE Ohio State university for a event or concert then this is it. Very professional staff, ultra clean and comfortable. The other reviewers will do it more justice than I will. I don't know why you would stay here if you weren't using the campus, but this hotel is top notch. Walking distance to High Street and both stadiums. Parking does cost and valet is a better deal than doing it yourself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indythad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed at The Blackwell twice now and both visits were terrific. Both times there was a wedding going on and guests arriving but each time the valet greeted us immediately. Their valet parking is more reasonable than any of the downtown hotels. To call for your car, you can just use your phone to scan the QR code on the valet ticket and they will text you back telling you when to expect your car out front. Check in was fast and easy. The hotel has free Wi-Fi. The rooms are very nice and quite spacious. The lounge is a nice place to have a drink. We have not tried the Bistro yet, but we look forward to doing so. It appears that most of the staff are students and their friendliness and enthusiasm are terrific. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel for free. On our first visit, I left a nice jacket in the room closet. I called the hotel, housekeeping found the jacket, and sent it out the next day to me via UPS. They do their absolute best to accommodate every request at this hotel and it makes any stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a great view of Ohio Stadium.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews