We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Over sleep during business travel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackwell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blackwell
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Always Over sleep during business travel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I travel for my business and this is the first hotel and I've stayed in many that I actually rest. The staff was very personable and insured my overall satisfaction.They also gave me a great pizza recommendation considering I'm from Chicago and to tired to eat in a restaurant. I hold pizza standards pretty high being from Chicago, and to their surprise I ordered two pies from the front desk staff and valet person. Executive floor is awesome and so are the non executive rooms. Still great service all around.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reachgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    105
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
136
93
35
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
407 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent 5 nights this month at The Blackwell. The place is very nice and the staff is just about as good as I have seen in any hotel I have been visiting. They were friendly and sincere, not friendly just to get a tip, but friendly because it was their mission. The food at the adjoining "2110 Bistro" was equally good and the staff much the same. We were very surprised how the food tasted at "2110". It was as good and mostly better than all of the restaurants that we know of in Columbus. The only glitch in the hotel stay was that an Ipod was taken from our valet parked car, but the third party Valet Company just recently gave me approval to buy a new one at their expense which resolved this minor glitch. All in all, we will be regulars at The Blackwell. It just could not get better if you need to be in that area of Columbus.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but buy the pass for the OSU Aquatic Center. It is an incredible facility that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onceinawhile31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This experience was that of the best. My room was super nice and the hotel appearance was very nice. The staff at the Blackwell was fantastic. I will stay at this wonderful hot next time I am in town on business.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had to travel to Columbus for upcoming medical reasons and was booked into The Blackwell by the company in charge of my medical stuff. I was a little leery of staying at a hotel on a college campus, but it was amazing! All of the room amenities were top of the line, the staff was excellent, the restaurant was superb! The rooms were quiet and the bed.... oh, the bed... it made for the best night of sleep I have had in a long time. Valet service was nice and friendly also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyjanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Blackwell while visiting the Ohio State Univ. campus. The price was really reasonable and the amenities were amazing. Everything was immaculate, the staff was courteous and knowledgeable. Besides just having the complimentary shuttle to pick up from the airport, they also would drive guests to local restaurants and other establishments. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxinemadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The Blackwell has oversized rooms, extremely comfortable beds and great service. My only complaint is that there are no vending machines on the floors so if I wanted a coke I had to ask room service to deliver which meant the price if a 12 oz can of coke was extremely high!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

When I found out that this hotel was basically on the campus at Ohio State, I was ready to not enjoy my stay at all. It was a long few days of travel and finding out that The Blackwell was on the Ohio State campus, for some reason, put me in a foul mood. I was ready to find something wrong with the service or the facility. I'm usually a pretty positive and upbeat guy, but I just wasn't ready to enjoy staying here. All that being said, this place was fantastic. It was absurd how every need seemed to be anticipated, every face was genuinely smiling, and all of this in a very well appointed room at an excellent value. It was almost disturbing that these guys did so well...everyone really knocked it out of the park on this one! I'll continue to not like the Buckeye sports teams, but will go out of my way to stay at this hotel again. Great job to all of you at The Blackwell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliecutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
10.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
2.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#4 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Property: The Blackwell
Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Pl, Columbus, OH 43210-1137
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing