We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A weekend at the Blackwell”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blackwell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blackwell
Ranked #3 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A weekend at the Blackwell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the hotel. Loved the friendly, accommodating staff. The room had lots of extras, very comfortable. Loved the IPOD docking station. Would come back again for sure! The bellhop delivered our belongings while we left for dinner. We arrived back at room to find our beverages chilling in fridge with a bucket of ice waiting for us. (Each night a bucket of ice was waiting for us in our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeforshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    114
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
155
97
39
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

When conducting business with the university, the Blackwell Inn is the best location in Columbus. It is here that I return again and again due to the professionalism and exceptional customer service. Chocolates on the pillow & complimentary airport shuttle service are a bonus! Bistro 2110 is quiet with healthy choices for business meals. Run and managed by the OSU's Fisher College of Business, this is a great value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the stadium if you go on a game weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate your return stay at The Blackwell and your wonderful comments about the amenities! Columbus offers many hotel options to visitors and we value each guest that selects The Blackwell. Thank you and look forward to hosting you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJUBLJANA, SLOVENIA, EUROPE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is located right on the campus of Ohio State University. It is an average hotel, in terms of service and design. Rooms were clean, breakfast was very good and staff was efficient and nice. I think that a hotel is a bit overrated in reviews. One complaint would be that we wanted to have a drink at the bar in the evening as they have a small bar near the reception area, however it was closed for two days while we were staying there. You have absolutelly nothing to do in a hotel if you have one hour to spend.

If not for the convenient location for campus, I would rather stayed in a hotel downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GANESHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, we value each guest and strive to exceed their expectations. I had a chance to review the survey that you recently completed. I was concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel, specifically the lobby lounge being closed during your stay. Our lobby lounge opens weekdays at 4pm until about 11pm and weekends at 2pm until about midnight. I apologize that it was not available to you for your convenience. I do hope when your travels bring you back to Columbus, Ohio, you will give us another try. Feel free to contact me to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Was staying in Columbus for a conference at OSU and thought it would be a typical college town hotel. It was instead close to all things and the staff went above and beyond the call of responsibility to make me feel welcome. I cannot overemphasize how professional and quick the staff was to attend to my needs. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloraia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate your time to review The Blackwell. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to another opportunity to host you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Such an unexpectedly wonderful experience. Room, staff, restaurant.....fab! would definitely stay there again. They make you feel like a special guest and are always smiling and helpful. Loved the shuttle to airport and restaurants.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Blackwell. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed one night at the Blackwell 2 weeks ago on a Saturday night. The room was very clean & comfortable, the morning buffet was delicious & every staff member was amazing! We thought that valets & restaurant servers were students. They were all attentive, professional & friendly. We'd go back again if we are in Columbus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish3230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Blackwell. We look forward to being your host again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I've really liked the idea of hotels run by students on campus. And when you're attending a conference on campus grounds -- it was really convenient. Although a little hard to find, it is a beautiful building. Also, I later discovered that every student I asked could give directions.

The room was very nice with a great window and furnishings, comfy beds, top amenities, a nice few of the stadium. Although the conference sent a bus to transport us to the amazing Student Union for our meetings; it was a pleasant 15-20 minute walk.

The restaurant was very good although they were a little slow on the night I ate there. The meals were reasonably priced for a fine hotel, although my colleague said the charge for the same meal with room service was almost twice as much and went way over our allowable expenses.
If you can make do without a car -- the hotel provides an airport shuttle (schedule in advance) and you'll also avoid the $15 a night valet charge.

The place feels quiet and remote -- but you are truly right in the center of campus.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. While our management team is made of mostly hotel and restaurant professionals, we strive to employ university students to give them experience in a professional environment. We are encouraged to hear that several of our student employees exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. With our location being on the north side of campus, across from The Ohio Stadium, the Blackwell can easily be accessible and offers a convenient location for those visiting the campus area. We look forward to your return to The Blackwell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
10.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
2.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
1.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Property: The Blackwell
Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Place, Columbus, OH 43210
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing