We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at The Blackwell”
Review of The Blackwell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Blackwell
Ranked #4 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Findlay, Ohio
1 review
“Stay at The Blackwell”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel was awesome! The room was large and very clean. There were extras that I did not expect for the price - two bathrobes in the closet and evening service with ice and chocolates. Plenty of towels too. The room also had hot chocolate in addition to the usual coffee and tea offerings. Check in was very smooth. Although the hotel was full, it was very quiet on my floor. It was a snowy day and the sidewalks were clear and salted. I would highly recommend The Blackwell.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    119
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
161
102
41
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We drove in from Virginia and located the hotel easily. The doormen were quick and courteous. The front staff were professional and kind. The valet service made parking a breeze. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garynewt04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here just one night for an event as OSU. Very convenient having the hotel right on the campus. It gave us a chance to walk around and explore. The hotel has a very nice spacious lobby, and the check in staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. The room was fantastic - large, great view of of the campus, very comfortable beds. We ate at the onsite restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Blackwell because was in the OSU. I was there for 4 nights and te hotel was in a walking distance from where I newded to be. Before going I searched about the hotel and made me happy to see so manu good reviews. And they apply. The staff could be more friendly (lfake smiles stile). I loved the room. They have free wi-fi and free shuttle from and to the airport. My internet reservation didnt have breakfast included, but it qas better this way, because they have a Panera Bread very close by! I love Panera Bread!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violabrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spacious clean room, very high bathroom vanity (which was fine for us, but might be problematic for shorter individuals), helpful staff, and wonderful location for OSU events. I am familiar with Columbus; lived there for 20+ years, and felt this hotel would be nicely centrally located for our planned itinerary in the area.

My only real caveat is that the hotel said that daily parking was $10. Which was true. However, overnight parking was $15. Although an additional $5/day fee is negligible, the web site should be updated to make this fee more specific.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFYDumfries_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The Blackwell is without a doubt the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at. When you walk in, you're greeted with a marvelous lobby with very friendly staff working in all areas. The room itself was the coziest I've ever experienced. Ours featured a coffee bar with a Keurig coffee maker, gorgeous flat screen TV with hundreds of channels, the cushiest bed you'll ever sleep on, and of course marble counters in the bathroom with a spa type shower. Our room was straightened up twice a day, and in the evening we were given a forecast card for the next day with two truffles. Very nice.

In all honesty, for what you pay, you're not getting a whole lot. There is no on site recreation room. You have to walk to OSU's and pay an extra $7 to share a treadmill with a frat boy. When we retired for the evening, a wedding reception was going on where a very intoxicated bride was screaming four letter words at her bridesmaids in the lobby. ClASSy. There is no complimentary breakfast. We paid $12/person for the breakfast buffet (which was delicious, but still). Also, they don't have their own parking lot. You have to park your ride on the OSU campus and pay $12 a day. Your room also doesn't have an extra sink which is a pain if you happen to be staying as a couple. You will also be informed that if you trash the room, you will be charged an additional $50. Uh....what?

You would think that after paying $109 a night that they would hook you up with more than just a swanky room...My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay, but we will look elsewhere the next time we return to Columbus. There just wasn't enough bang for the buck.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Amber S, thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our room accommodations and the interactions you had with our staff. Although we are disappointed to read that we did not meet all of your expectations. We do offer a variety of packages of which several include breakfast and parking. Additionally, we do have an on-site, state-of-the-art fitness room in addition to the University facilities. Again, thank you for your review, please contact feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your specific concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Booked a room here the night before passing through Columbus and had no idea it was on the OSU campus when we found it online. It was actually a really wonderful place and the staff was very courteous and friendly. The bed was amazingly soft and comfortable and the location is within walking distance of several points of interest and eateries. After several days on the road during a cross-country trip, this hotel was an oasis of comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeAndBear8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#10 of 143 in Columbus
548 reviews
10.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Property: The Blackwell
Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Pl, Columbus, OH 43210-1137
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing