We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Big rooms, big desks, free Wifi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackwell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blackwell
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Big rooms, big desks, free Wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Blackwell lobby was nice enough, although I wouldn't call it luxurious. But the room, on the contrary, was very very nice and high end. Terrific bed -- extremely comfortable, and perfect TV. The desk areas (my room had two) were enormous. The coffee maker in the room had the makings for 3 cups of coffee, many cups of tea and even hot cocoa - much appreciated. The room also had lots of storage -- so probably set up for business folks that had to do business in town for an extended period. Besides -- free Wifi -- which is always appreciated, they had my favorite cable network -- HGTV -- which is more unusual that you would believe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvaS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    107
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
141
93
35
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
214 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Very nice and comfortable rooms in a great location on the OSU campus but also very close to Short North and Grandview.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for business on the OSU campus. Hotel is right in middle of campus and has easy view of the "horse shoe" which is the stadium that OSU footlball team calls home.

Check in was fine. Lobby is functional but nothing spectacular. They have a small bar and sitting area located off to the side in a small corner. Looks more like an afterthought.

Room was good size. Very comfy chair. Desk was functional with ample electric access. Internet was free for me and worked fine. Was told that the password that the hotel have me would work on whole campus-can't say that I tried it outside of campus but I thought that was a cool concept.

Bed was very comfortable. They provided turn down service at night which was a nice touch. Bathroom was ok, good size but a little dated. The whole room was dated but was kept up ok. Good room size.

Restaurant was a bit off the beaten path, had to walk to what seemed like an addition to the hotel. They had a nice brunch on weekend.

This stay was better than ok but hotel could use some updating and better planning. but overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srk3465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were able to secure a room at The Blackwell during the Ohio High School Athletic Association's(OHSAA) State Wrestling Tournament, which also happened to be the same weekend as the State Swimming Tournament, State Cheerleading Tournament, and the Arnold Classic. Needless to say, the city was overflowing with thousands of visitors. From the minute we had our car valeted we experienced service as it should be--superior! Checking in was seamless, valet service was effortless (and you do NOT have to pay for every time you have it valeted), and the location was fantastic! We walked back and forth to the Schottenstein and could not have asked for a better hotel. We ordered room service to celebrate my nephew's success, placing in the top 4 for his weight class, and they made it a very special event for him. A GREAT place to stay!

Room Tip: EXECUTIVE SUITE! Large, large rooms! There was an adjoining room with ours, but we did not book both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JnAMcGhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Travel lots for work and holidays and see a lot of hotels. But it was the little extras like ice in the ice bucket already for me at the end of the day. It would have been nice though if they had a few bottles of water though. But over all excellent option and would choose it again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pageofbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We reserved a king loft suite for a weekend visit to our son at OSU. The location is fantastic and we've enjoyed previous visits. The room on the top floor was excellent and the bed was extremely comfortable. The small snack station for executive floor rooms was a nice bonus. The valet parking attendant was helpful when we checked in, offering the valet service, and the option of self parking in the garage across the street. Check in was easy with a very pleasant young lady efficiently handling the process and welcoming us. So for the room and hotel service experience, this was another 5-star experience. Unfortunately, the restaurant was simply awful. On the first morning, the breakfast was just poor food, including an under-cooked omelet that was inedible, and cold food on the buffet. But the second morning was simply deplorable. We were greeted by Ashley (yes, I did take note of her name), who took us to a small, dark table for two, adjacent to another table with 9 people. The balance of the restaurant was empty except for one other table. We requested one of the tables by the window. Ashley became the most rude service person I've ever encountered. She rolled her eyes, sighed, and then decided to lecture us on the need for 4 people to be at a 4-top because they get so busy. To be clear, there were more than 25 empty tables in the restaurant at the time! Luckily, our server could not have been more pleasant...but the food was the same poor quality from the previous day. Note that when we left, there were still more than 25 empty tables! It's amazing how one rude person can impact the impression of an otherwise very nice hotel; my rating would have been 5 stars, otherwise.

Room Tip: King loft suites on the west side have a great view of the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Popovova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spatsiavos, Director of Sales at The Blackwell, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Blackwell. We would like to apologize for the condition of the food on the morning of your first breakfast in Bistro 2110. Please know your comments have been passed on to our Food and Beverage Director and culinary staff.

Secondly, we were extremely disappointed to learn of the details of your encounter with our Bistro 2110 hostess – certainly not the Blackwell service we pride ourselves on. We were encouraged to learn that your Bistro 2110 server may have “saved the day”, and provided a positive resolution to your initial experience. I realize this does not change your own experience, but I do hope that you feel confident that we heard your concerns and are following through with a plan to avoid future occurrences.

We do apologize again for the issues experienced during your stay and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it. Without your feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you during your next trip to Columbus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooville ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Blackwell this past weekend for the Ohio State Wrestling Tournament..It was the nicest stay that we have had at a hotel! The customer service was OUTSTANDING. The rooms were spacious and very clean! I would recommend this hotel to anyone that will be staying in the Columbus area. This hotel is a hidden jewel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLW155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
10.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/Polaris
2.5 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#4 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#17 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Property: The Blackwell
Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Pl, Columbus, OH 43210-1137
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#1 Family Hotel in Columbus
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing