We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time and loved it”

AAB India Restaurant
Ranked #184 of 2,228 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First time and loved it”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went here with my cousin after the first place we wanted to go was closed (it was a holiday). We both enjoyed the buffet that they offered and thought that it was slightly better in price than what was offered on the menu (even though the prices were only slightly off for a full entree). I have lived in the area for about 3 years and wanted to try this place before but never could find the time. Now I think I will be going back soon to enjoy some really good food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    47
    17
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not for solos”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went to Aab for lunch today for the first time, and had a really bad experience. I was there alone at 12:15, and requested to sit at a table. There were 3 open tables that I could see, and no one waiting behind me, although they did have a substantial lunch crowd. They told me I had to sit at the bar as I was alone. When I again stated that I would prefer a table, they refused. Due to an injury, I am not able to climb onto a bar stool, so I refused, and insisted on a table. They did finally give me one for 2-people.

The situation at the front door left a bad taste in my mouth. I've never been refused a table because I was at a restaurant alone before. Quite honestly, I was shocked. The food was fine, but I will not return. They are clearly not interested in my business, and I will happily take it to Bayleaf or Taj Palace instead, where any customer is welcome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have eaten here on two separate occasions, and both times, the food and service were fantastic. It is one of the better Indian restaurants I've eaten at, and this is the perfect place to go if you want a delicious meal. Also, make sure you try out their cocktail menu which uses some interesting ingredients that you won't find at your average bar either.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steph_Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bunch of Hype.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

A bit disappointed when we learned they would not accept a reservation for two. However, we arrived at approx. 6:30 and seated ourselves at the bar. Waited forever on the bartender to even notice us. We found this seating to be extremely drafty every time the door was opened. Mango margarita, nothing special, not fruity or fresh in taste. We had initial hope as the decor was not the typical decor of a mom and pop Indian restaurant. Seated in 20 minutes, no candle on table, tacky white paper over cloth tablecloths. Very Very loud, not romantic for a couple. We ordered the appetizer sampler #9, thinking this would be a yummy taste of many items, but instead it was nothing but deep fried pre frozen bland, poor textured mush. The breading separated completely away from the food when you cut into it. Tasteless and dry on the inside. Shrimp vindaloo had 6 small, tough,dehydrated, freezer burnt, rubbery shrimp. Sauce was ok, but wondered where the potatoes were? The chicken tikka masala was way over rich, with too much butter/cream. Reminded me of an Alfredo versus an Indian sauce. Chicken was tender and good. Overall, trendy and hip, but would choose Mom and Pop Indian over this any day!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mszippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk to Aab India!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I dined at Aab India for the first time Saturday night.

We arrived at about 6:00PM and sat at the bar as the wait time for a table was about 20 minutes.

We had a few appetizers, Tikka Samosa and Chicken Pakora...both were excellent.

For our entrees we ordered Chicken Vindaloo (5/6 on the spice meter) and Chicken Mater. The Vindaloo was a litter on the vinegary side for me, but delicious nonetheless. My wife loved the Chicken Mater, epecially with their homemade naan (we had 2 orders).

Overall, it was quite possibly the best Indian meal we've ever enjoyed.

We will definitely return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Musicneverstopped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AAB India Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to AAB India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing