We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to move in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard
Ranked #33 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wanted to move in!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A really nice place to stay! Easy to locate off the highway, friendly staff, clean rooms with nice furnishings, soooooo much better than the 'resort' I stayed at in Wisconsin. The fact that LQ is dog friendly is AWESOME. I stayed one night here on my way to Wisconsin and one night on the way back. I had a king bed in my room on the return trip, it was EXTREMELY comfortable! I have back issues and most beds create pain in my body within minutes, I slept soundly til my dogs woke me the next morning. I was close to the vending machines but never heard a thing. Culvers next door was nice too, never been there, still have not tried the frozen custard as the burger and cheese curds filled me up. The breakfast at LQ was quite nice, love the waffles! This brings me to the one MINOR ding, I advised the young woman at the front desk that the waffle batter was thin and runny. She said it must be getting low and she would look into it. About 10-15 minutes passed, she was still sitting. I asked her about it, she then immediately had the batter replenished.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    101
    36
    13
    17
See reviews for
127
62
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
473 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Lower class, older La Quinta Inn. Rooms are acceptable, service is fine. Hard to find, mixed in with about 12 other hotels at an extremely busy intersection. If you need to stay on the west side of Columbus, then this is a good location. Pet friendly. Back staircase smells. Can be loud on weekends. Ask for a room in the middle of the building, away from the elevator and stair wells, and the laundry room on the first floor. Morning breakfast one of the worst I've seen, very humble.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Reading some of the previous reviews I think this hotel must have undergone a renovation. My room had brand new mattresses and the bathroom had bamboo flooring and granite countertops. I traveled with a dog to a seminar in Pennysylvania and was completely comfortable walking around the area after dark. It is right next to a Culver's fast food restaurant with plenty of shopping around. My two disappointments were that I asked for a Bible and the clerk at the front desk said that they no longer carried them, and the breakfast bar was just okay, not great. If I ever travel to Columbus again I would def stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room since they have taller ceilings and ask for a room on the fast food resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East TN
Level Contributor
182 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel was up to LQ standards, not luxury but quite acceptable. An older hotel with some signs of wear throughout. Good staff, good location.
Have stayed here before and see the hotel did redecorate over time, though ongoing maintenance is required.
I heard that new ownership will take over soon. Believe some staff are leaving. Will be interested to learn how new owner manages.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvis-f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight on a cross-country trip and I was very impressed with the room. We got in late/slept in late so we didn't get to see the surrounding parts of town or get to the breakfast; but I was very impressed with the room and hotel overall. Extremely clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was a very good hotel for the price. We were only here one night on our travels from the Midwest to the East coast. It's in a nice, safe area just off the Interstate. We arrived here later in the evening and left in the morning after breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank JDIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Is the main advantage of staying here. Everything you need from a Kroger Grocery (with a state liquor store inside), to a multiplex movie theater, (including around 20 reastaurants), is within a 3-4 min drive. And if if you don't want to give up that primo parking space you scored for being the first person to check in, you can either eat at the adjacent Culver's or walk all way of 500' feet around the corner to the Holiday Inn's restaurant/lounge.
As as far as local geography is concerned , this west end hotel can be reached from the Easton Mall (in the NE corner, of the city), in under 20 min,(non rush hour), due to the use of local interstates.
As for the property itself, my initial impression on entering (based on sight/smell), was that this was a new property. However based on posted association decals (and minor details) the property is at least 5 YRS old. The room,( 1 King), had both a sofa and a semi reclining office desk chair.As far as the hotel breakfast, after 30+ yrs of getting off work at 2, 3 ,4AM in the morning I don't DO breakfast! (so don't ask ME!).
The only downside of the property, is that it is wood constructed which mildly amplifies hallway/wall early noise (which tends to die down at bedtime).

Room Tip: Winter sun is from the outside the south (odd#),rooms. The property has an indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtc663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus West
Hampton Inn Columbus West
#19 of 143 in Columbus
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus West
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Keim Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus West
0.5 mi away
Best Western Suites
Best Western Suites
#20 of 143 in Columbus
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard
Address: 5510 Trabue Rd, Columbus, OH 43228-9772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Columbus
#41 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Days Inn
Days Inn Columbus
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus West - Hilliard Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing