We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Varsity Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Varsity Inn
Ranked #108 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Everything worked great in the room. Fast internet; cable television channels. Beside Bob Evans. Staff was exceptional and professional. The parking was easy and close to the room. And when I arrived to the room was greeted with a warm room as the heat had been turned on in plenty of time to heat the room. Nice. Check In and Check Out were quick and easy.

Room Tip: Went for Very Good for location with regard to the restaurant beside the hotel. It was actually an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 147 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have used Varsity Inn South for 7 years for our Holiday Accommodations for our Company Christmas Party. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Kyle was great! He setup all the rooms for us, I submitted a name list and when our guest arrived they were all set! The rooms were wonderful! They were very clean and welcoming. The beds are very comfortable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pricen_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Jeffrey Lockshaw made this experience for my husband's surgery at OSU a much more pleasant one. Thanks to Jeff, we wll always stay at Varsity Inn when we are in Columbus. He was incredibly kind and helped us escape a bill double what we paid after online poor advice and stay in these clean, comfortable accommodations with less sress.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean with luxurious bedding but not real roomy for a long stay. No breakfast, but always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gram-uhoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I reserved a room 2 days ago at this hotel for Quarter Horse Congress. My horse was injured and I called the hotel to cancel. They could not find my reservation at all. I had a ref. number and they told me I would have to call Travel now.com. I called and they had the reservation. Travel Now called the hotel explaining the cancellation and asking to wave the cancellation fee. The hotel manager refused. Travel Now had me call and speak with the manager. I was told it is a BUSINESS to make money and I could be lying about the emergency to get them to wave the fee. I offered to send them All correspondence and information between the vet and myself, to prove my emergency. Manager was not pleasant to say the least even though I kept calm acting as a lady. This hotel obviously leaves a lot to be desired. Losing reservations, bad attitude and not being personable is not qualities of a good manager and reflects poorly on the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberlycr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here after being forced to quickly scramble for a room when the hotel I booked couldn't find my reservation.
I'm not one to stay at motels and am a self-proclamined germaphobe. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by the room itself. While small and no-frills, it was clean and looked like it had been updated within the last few years.
Would I stay there again? Not on purpose. But it wasn't bad in a pinch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights for the OSU football game. Hotel was busy, alumni weekend. My room was clean and the bed (king) was clean and nice. One of the firmer hotel mattresses I've experienced lately. The room is basic, and small but adequate. So small, actually, that the door bumps the desk when opened. The tv is old (flat screen tube). Building Two is 30 feet from a train track with multiple overnight trains -completely obnoxious. Overall, though, you can't go wrong with the location on a game weekend for well under $100 a night.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teachergirlmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I (50's) booked a room last Saturday for a blues music event downtown. We have stayed here about 10 times previous so we know what to expect and it is plenty good for what we need. We recommend this hotel if you looking for a place to sleep and you plan to spend a minimal amount of time in the room.
Cons:
Towels are small
Rooms are clean but in need of update
Close to train tracks (this has never been a problem for us but I guess there is that potential)
A great OSU Buckeye's bar with memorabilia next door was torn down to build another hotel
Prices increase and availability decrease during OSU games
Pros:
Rooms are clean and we have never had trouble with noise
Free parking right outside your door if you are on first floor
$67 per night plus tax
Microwave and medium sized refrigerator included
Close to SR315 ramps and 5th street for easy access to downtown and Ohio State events
Flat screen TV

Room Tip: Ask for first floor away from the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Clara St
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus - OSU
Motel 6 Columbus - OSU
#119 of 145 in Columbus
86 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
3.6 mi away
German Village Inn
German Village Inn
#106 of 145 in Columbus
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Inn

Address: 1445 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43212-1449
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $58 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Varsity Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Varsity Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Hotel Columbus
Varsity Inn Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing