We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do NOT recommend this hotel to season travelers!!! Choose another property which can afford you more for your hard earn money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Columbus - OSU
Ranked #119 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed March 18, 2009

This is a standard motel, no frills located in a dead part of Columbus, OH 43202.
Polite staff: Eric, Renee, Katamba, Sue, and Mrs. Kamal Prahwa.

What worked for me at this hotel? Not anything! It did not have anything special to offer me. It is too simple and without anything. This property is for sleeping only. There are not any nice restaurants around. I am NOT a fast / junk food consumer. The bus does run well from this area. I erred when I selected this product property. I did not know where I was coming. I thought it would be significantly closer to downtown than I now realize. In addition, the cash deposit is too much for a no frills hotel, that does not have anything to offer. It is not as if I would be charging wine, food, etc… none of these are available at this motel. Even the remote control in the bedroom was simple. You cannot advance/spring to TV stations. For example, you cannot select channels simply by pushing the buttons and have the TV jump to the station(s) of choice. You must go through the channel selection one after another. Ugh! The telephone is in the wrong place in the room; it is not on the work desk... uhmmm. Had difficulties closing the curtain, one sheet (sleep on sheet) was spotted with a dark brown stain, a few of the face towels were stained with dark brown spots too. No they were not dirty… (well I am sure they were washed) however, badly stained; this does not work for me. That sheet and those towels need to be disposed. Housekeeping personnel had already left for the day so I had to sleep without a cover sheet on the bed… paying what I paid? Oh no! In addition, breakfast was a disaster. Why? Some of us eat healthy foods and are cognizant of calories, and non-toxic foods. They did not have any oatmeal, boiled eggs or an assortment of fruits. All they have are endless donuts, muffins, bagels, white bread, all those lethargic feeling CRABS that add fifty (50) lbs to your waistline after you get up from the breakfast table. Horrible! All that heart attack and insulin spiking foods; all for U$80.00/night, NEVER again!!! This hotel should not sell the room I was in for more than U$59.00/ max per night including the taxes. The current rate for the room I occupied is too expensive given what one does not receive in a modern day hotel at this management’s selling price-point. If this hotel were selling the product I occupied at U$50.00/night including tax, it would be just ok for this product. I give this hotel a ‘D- Grade’, not more. It’s just barely passes my litmus.

Would I stay here again? Yes, however with reservation. There would have to be a compelling reason to stay at this property again. For example, no other hotel available within a seven to ten mile radius of this property due to a sold out city or if I had an appointment across the street from this hotel. I would absolutely NOT pay the same price!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamyOahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 86 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed here after returning from a lengthy flight. The property is more motel than hotel, but is very clean (especially the pool). The front desk was very accommodating.

The room is very small with a small TV - similar to a Motel 6. However, the bed, a typical Baymont bed, is very comfy. The bathroom is clean and has newer fixtures.

I would have given this a higher rating, except the bedding was older and the comforter did have a faded blood stain (not fresh, and washed many times).

One final tip: the Mexican restaurant in front, El Vaquero, has good food and is very cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We just recently stayed at this motel for one night while attending the Fair. It's a very nice, quiet and CLEAN motel. The pool is a little small, but was very clean. The breakfast in the morning is just right. I would Stay there again with no doubts.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cfamilyinohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Great place to stay. Off of the road so there is no traffic noise. Housekeeping is great. If you have an issue (my water never got hot in the first room) they take care of it immediately. Clean and freshly painted (7/08). Breakfast is good, however the hours are too short (6-9) and (7-10) in my opinion. They can accommodate trailers if necessary.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CB_7I7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

This is a great hotel that is close to most of the attractions and a few Malls of Columbus. We stayed one night. The room was very clean and had lots of space. We walked to nearby restaurants. The continental breakfast included waffles, bagels, danishes, cereal and fruit. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for the quality at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CALewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We booked two rooms for one night at this hotel as part of a road trip weekend. The hotel's location is great. It is near OSU and the Short North area, which is always lively and fun. Although there was continental breakfast, we were saving up for breakfast at First Watch, so we didn't eat anything at the hotel. There is also a Mexican restaurant across the parking lot. Across the street is a cemetery, so if you don't find that strange, then this hotel is alright. Doors open to the outside, so you can hear everything going on outside. The room was simple and clean. Bathroom was small, but clean. Beds are comfortable. There is internet access and cable TV. There is a small pool and small workout room, 3 cardio machines. The pool was closed. This hotel is great for spending a comfortable night before your next destination while on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sightseeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

I spent three days at the Baymont attending a conference at OSU and can't understand the objection to it. The room was large, clean, well-heated (Columbus was cold and rainy!) and the beds were comfortable. I had a lot of editing to do between sessions and was able to spend a considerable amount of time in the hotel business room, first editing the texts and then emailing them back to Finland. There was enough to eat for breakfast (especailly if you're into sweet and starchy) and I couldn't find any of the rudeness noted by earlier guests.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank satumaa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.6 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#108 of 145 in Columbus
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
2.8 mi away
Extend a Suites Columbus Ohio
Extend a Suites Columbus Ohio
#101 of 145 in Columbus
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
#116 of 145 in Columbus
177 reviews
7.3 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#76 of 145 in Columbus
73 reviews
7.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
#78 of 145 in Columbus
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Columbus - OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbus - OSU

Address: 3246 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1519 (Formerly Varsity Inn OSU North)
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $58 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Columbus - OSU 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Columbus OSU is conveniently located off of OH-315. Visit dining, shopping, and entertainment all nearby! Enjoy Free Wi-Fi in all modern guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Columbus - OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Inn Osu North Hotel Columbus
Baymont Inn Columbus Osu
Columbus Baymont Inn
Motel 6 Columbus - OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing