We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Justice where justice is due!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 OSU

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel 6 OSU
Ranked #117 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Joensuu
1 review
“Justice where justice is due!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

I spent three days at the Baymont attending a conference at OSU and can't understand the objection to it. The room was large, clean, well-heated (Columbus was cold and rainy!) and the beds were comfortable. I had a lot of editing to do between sessions and was able to spend a considerable amount of time in the hotel business room, first editing the texts and then emailing them back to Finland. There was enough to eat for breakfast (especailly if you're into sweet and starchy) and I couldn't find any of the rudeness noted by earlier guests.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank satumaa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    19
    6
    16
See reviews for
30
8
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

Perfect for us with free wireless, breakfast & cable.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank bikerbroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because we could leave are car for up to 5 days.The hotel was dirty and the water did not get hot.
On top of this when we left their had been snow on the ground.When we got back are car had been towed to a junk yard along with 5 other cars.When the snow melted we had all been in a fire zone.Rather then tow the car some where in the lot he let them take them away.They were suppose to be responsible for are car.Nick said he would pay half the tow and it's been 10 months and he won't do a dang thing about it.He is a lier and a man that does not live up to his word.I would not stay at the Baymont to save my life.
Cust. Service did not help me one bit.I have tried every thing.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Brockcosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

WARNING: Do NOT stay here! We were traveling with a group of people & this was the only hotel available (or so we thought). The manager, Nick, was a very rude person. He would not accomodate some of our requests & did not even consider that we had elderly people in our group. All our rooms had a nasty order to them. In one room the air conditioner did not work. We decided we wanted to leave & they ended up charging us for the night (even though we did not stay there) We are now fighting with the hotel & our credit card company. What a mess we now have to deal with! If you want to stay in the area or are catching a flight, I would recommend the Ramada which is about 5-10 minutes away. We had a very nice stay there.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Rude manager
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2007

Upon arrival, unlocked and entered assigned room only to find this room already occupied!!! Loaded suitcases back up and went back to office. Assigned another room but had to be separated from our group of 6 and placed on other side of hotel (original reservation confirmed we were placed in side-by-side rooms) . Room was dingy and dirty. Furniture stained. Couldn't even take a relaxing bath - (tub had mold!! ) Door knob broken on bathroom door - wouldn't close or lock. Paint peeling in bathroom. Blanket on bed stained, cigarette burns and dirty. Smoke alarm dangling by wire from ceiling. Spider webs in corner of bathroom. After going out for the evening and returning late - couldn't get back into our room - key card encoded wrong - another trip back to the office! Upon checking out, found we were charged for three nights instead of 2 - (yes, we were forced to stay more than one night - would have left right away but everything was booked up in Columbus!) (Note: Had a hard time even looking for another hotel because room didn't even have a telephone book or pen and paper!!) Stay away from this place. I did take photos of these conditions with my cell phone.

  • Liked — locaton
  • Disliked — xxxx
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank accordOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2005

We stayed two nights. The air conditioner did not work. There was no offer to move us to another room. The manager said nothing would be done until 9 a.m. the next morning. At noon on the next day, the air conditioner had not yet been repaired and my husband again went to the office where the manager said it could not be fixed that day either. The manager then offered us another room at that time. We had to repack and move. Carpets in both rooms were stained badly. There was dirt under the recliner chair. The dumpster was overflowing and rats were running around.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynch394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Ownership Representative at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review, June 22, 2006
This property was sold and renovated in 2005-March, 2006 changing from Cross Country Inn to Baymont Inn and Suites. The renovation of over $1million included all new guest rooms, exterior renovation. New ownership and management re-flagged the property as Baymont Inn and Suites in March, 2006.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2005

We stayed there before a seven day trip. We liked the park and fly program that the hotel offered, where we could leave our car for 5 days for free then it was only $5 for each additional day. I was very pleased with the hotel. The bathroom was exceptionaly clean as was the rest of the room. The drive through check in was easy and efficient. Also there is a shuttle service that picks you up at the hotel and take you to the terminal to catch your plane. Then on return they pick you up and take you back to your car at the hotel. Everything was worry free and we would most deffinitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StacysOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites University Area OSU
2.6 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#102 of 143 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
7.3 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#69 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 OSU

Property: Motel 6 OSU
Address: 3246 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1519 (Formerly Varsity Inn OSU North)
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 OSU 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Motel 6 OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Inn Osu North Hotel Columbus
Baymont Inn Columbus Osu
Columbus Baymont Inn
Motel 6 OSU Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing