We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ewwwww!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West
Ranked #120 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ewwwww!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Check-in okay but room was awful. Dirty sheets. Black spots may have been just stains but pet hair on sheets. Got new sheets to change beds but didn't bother once we saw how much hair was on the mateess pads. Other hotels booked or out if our price range so we asked for another room. Second room was better but still kind of grossed out because of evidence in lack of cleanlines: 1) smelly jeans left in drawer 2) animal fees right outside door 3 days. 3) water bottle left by dresser. Bathroom/sink area "okay". I also don't like how they used shopping carts that sat out overnight to bring sheets around, not so sanitary.

They did offer breakfast but didn't eat just because I don't know how food was handled.

One amenity I liked was the wi-fi but don't forget a razor or deodorant because you'll be making a trip to the gas station.

As for staff, no one was rude to us. The front desk gal was actually pretty friendly. :-)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hvcol323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvicolwest, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about the issues during your stay. We would like you to know that we have addressed these concerns with our staff so we can avoid them in the future. Again, we apologize and hope you will give us another chance when you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    3
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
1
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughquag, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and the service was excellent. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice, clean, and comfortable. It's located at a very quite corner of a very resourceful area. There are tons of restaurants near by and plenty of stores. There is also a movie theater within walking distance if you get bored. Whenever I go back to Columbus I would definitely choose to stay at the America's BEST VALUE Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

I have been coming down to Columbus, Ohio in early August for about 10 years, to attend the Ohio State Fair
For the last 6 years, this is where I have stayed.
As well as the reasons mentioned in the title, I have next to no complaints about any of my previous stays at this location.
It is close to everything!
The interstate is easily accessable. Plenty of restaurants close by. Movie theater, Wal Mart, Meijer, Kroger within an easy drive.
Any minor concerns that I have had, have always been quickly addressed!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

This place was filthy. I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soozn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Astoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

I don't know why the previous review is still there. It is from 2005. The person who wrote that stayed at the Cross Country Inn. This is no longer a Cross Country Inn, It's Americas Best Value Inn. The staff was very friendly which is hard to find these days. The rooms comfortable & clean. Plenty of restaurants within 1/2 mile. All the fast food along with Italian, Chinese, Mexican, American. You name it, its there. I will stay there everytime I go to Columbus.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank BobbyAstoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#70 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus-Hilliard
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus West/Hilliard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
Red Roof Inn Columbus West
#80 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites - Columbus / Keim Circle
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus West
Hampton Inn Columbus West
#20 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West
Address: 1313 W Saint James Lutheran Ln, Columbus, OH 43228
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn West is located 9 miles west of downtown Columbus, 14 miles from Port Columbus International Airport, 5 miles from Hollywood Casino, 4 miles from Hilliard, 7 miles from Cooper Stadium, 9 miles from Dublin, 14 miles from Columbus Zoo and Zoombezi Bay water parks.The property's amenities include drive-thru check-in and check-out, Guest laundry facility, 24 hours coffee, free Continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi internet Access, and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Columbus/West Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing