We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Ranked #42 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. Very nice room, double beds, a little loft area enclosed with white rails where you can read or use the laptop desk or full desk.The decor was modern, eclectic, tasteful. The lobby and common areas were nice as well. The location was wonderful! Lots of places to dine in walking distance. The walk dowtown was good. The thumbs down? Parking is the pits. Would I stay here again? Yes! If I'm ever in this area again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eagleyes737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna R, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your response. We’re happy to hear your enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to Columbus again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    67
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
43
39
8
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel due to it's proximity to the business I was visiting. The people were friendly, and the bed was comfortable, but that is about it.
- No parking, if you get there with your car, it is $18 per day valet parking.
- This time I did not rent a car and took a cab from the airport. It took five minutes for the little loading space in front of the hotel to clear up, so I can get out.
- One of the two elevators was out of service during my whole stay, quite a wait at certain times.
- Construction was going on just otside my window, starting at 8 AM till 5 PM.
- This is a very old building, and they tried to renovate it, but it did not turn out pleasing or functional. The design of the rooms is even worse.
- The food at the cafe at the lower level was so so, but the servers were friendly.

Overall the service was good, but there are several hotels I would choose next time, even though they may be a little more expensive.

Room Tip: Request upper levels, and until the construction is completed, ask for the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna R, AGM at Courtyard Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and bringing these concerns to my attention. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that we have taken your comments into consideration for improving our property and overall guest experience. We hope you'll give us another chance to provide a more positive stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I always enjoy staying at Courtyard hotels and this one was no exception.
You may need a car while you are here since everything in the immediate area closes early and you will need to drive a bit to get to good dinning.
The hotel is fresh and new feeling, so no complaints at all.
There is some construction taking place on one side of the hotel, but I never heard it until I was outside.
The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasJimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecil, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I were traveling to Columbus to attend a hockey game at the Nationwide Arena. Check-in was great, as it was raining and the valet met us immediately with umbrellas and assisted us with our luggage. The Hotel itself is average. Nice, but nothing great. The room was on the street side, which was a little eerie, but we kept the curtains shut anyway as it was a rainy day/night. The Front Desk were friendly, but when asked about a referral for a restaurant/bar, the person was not familiar with the area and could not make a recommendation. The restaurant/bar in the Hotel is not what you would expect. The hours are spotty. The service was terrible. It closes very early. We got there 10 minutes before closing and they did not want to wait on us (which is counter service) It looks like a grammar school cafeteria, with three bar stools at the counter where you order food. There were many people who came in after us and were not served because the staff were hiding in the kitchen. This Marriott is losing money by not having a better restaurant and food.

Room Tip: If you are visiting Columbus to visit Nationwide Arena, I would look elsewhere. There are places cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shagoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Where do I start??? No parking....??? How can you be a Marriott without parking....so you have to valet (which is costly per day) or you can park in a garage down the street that charges you to come in and out....what a rip off.

The girl who checked me in (I want to say her name was Kaitlin), she was pleasant & checked me in swiftly.

My room was clean. It was actually a little nicer than I expected. I was pleased with my digs....I couldn't get the TV to work w/ my iPad...which was annoying...no Netflix for me.

I wanted to wash clothes...Dan was at the front desk texting & I could have sworn he was high....I was talking to him & he seemed tuned out. I needed soap for the laundry & he took forever to get it...I was super annoyed

Overall, my visit was okay...but I'm used to having the luxury of parking my own car...that would be my biggest gripe...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TF271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I had a pleasant stay at the Courtyard. It was my fourth visit to the USA and the first one to Ohio. All staff were very friendly and hospitable, rooms were clean and neat. The location was very convenient. I enjoyed the C-Bus tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

As you can read from other reviews the costumer service at the hotel is great. To be honest they just have it right, this is the experience you look for at a hotel. Every staff person we interacted with was pleasant, accommodating, had a smile and always asked if there was anything else they could do. We used the pool at the hotel, it was great, clean, warm had a hot tub in the pool, so you could relax while the kid played. The rooms exceeded my expectation, they were modern and spacious, clean, and the beds were so comfortable. The location of this hotel really can't be beat, we were with in walking distance of the ball field, restaurants, shopping and in the heart of the city. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbus Downtown

Property: Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Address: 35 W Spring St, Columbus, OH 43215-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Columbus' oldest surviving hotels! Built atop a plot of land dating back to the birth of the city in 1800, the history of our hotel follows closely the transformation of Columbus, Ohio, from a sleepy pioneer town inhabited by the peace-loving Wyandot Indians and our nation's earliest settlers into today's sprawling urban conurbation and capital of our state. Built in 1911, our building has always been one of stark contrasts. Ostensibly constructed as a dry goods store, the United States Government secretly commissioned the building as a clandestine producer of uniforms and helmets in anticipation of World War I. It was around this time that the lower level of the lobby became a factory for the Wolfe Brothers' successful shoe business. Meanwhile, thousands of prison inmates from the nearby Ohio State Penitentiary were forced into unsafe and unsanitary forced labor, transported at gunpoint down an elaborate network of tunnels connecting the prison to industrial plants around the city. The remnants of this tunnel still survive today, entombed beneath the first floor bedrooms, used as storage for maintenance and housekeeping supplies. From 1954, Gene Schiller purchased the dry goods store and transformed it into a hotel, which he named "The Victorian Inn" after his daughter, Victoria, who had recently passed away. After later losing his beloved wife, Schiller committed suicide, whereupon the hotel was acquired by a bank and renamed "The Emory Inn". In 1985, the "Emory Inn" was purchased by the Best Western Company who later rebranded as a Courtyard by Marriott. All historical features and furnishings have been preserved where possible We hope you enjoy your stay with us here at the Historic Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Courtyard
Columbus Marriott
Courtyard Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing