We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under repair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Ranked #11 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, United States
1 review
“Under repair”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel is under repair (Lobby and breakfast area). Parking is expensive ($23.00 for valet). Good location at Short North. Lots of places to eat. Easy to get in and out of downtown Columbus. Staff is very nice and helpful. Lots of noise on the busy street below (High Street) impacts sleeping. Some late night party goers get loud until late at night. convention Center crowd.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    223
    62
    22
    18
See reviews for
174
148
47
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Recently stayed here for a business trip. I was in a hurry and left a pair of slacks and dress shirt in the closet. I called the next day when I unpacked and realized they were still at the hotel. I was told by the front desk staff that if anything was foind it would be in the lost and found. They transferred me there, where I left a message. It was never returned. I called again and left another message. Same result. No call back. Come on! A dirty pair of suit slacks and rumbled shirt?? Gross that the staff would want to keep that. I guess they were a name brand though...<eyeroll>

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Heather S,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware about your lost and found item. I apologize that the housekeeping department has not gotten back with you regarding your item. I have already spoken to the Executive Housekeeper regarding this. Also, I personally went through the lost and found this morning and unfortunately did not find your items. If it was left behind, I assure you it would have been turned in. I understand if this situation has left a sour taste in your mouth but I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First the down sides: 1) Construction in the lobby 2) Valet parking is the only parking option that I found at this time, 3) Lots of night life which means that it can get crowded and noisy.

Upsides: 1) Literally across the street from the Convention Center (with a cross walk signal) 2) Free breakfast with all the Hampton Inn options (look its not gourmet, but it does include waffles, fruit, cereal, potatoes, scrambled eggs, sausage and of course coffee) 3) Lots of night life, which means that there are plenty of options for eating and hanging out (recommend checking out Knead)

Room Tip: Because of the current construction, recommend getting a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ac804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus GA, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I would not stay in this hotel for another year. There is an odor in the rooms that smells of dead fish, and they have massive construction underway in all common areas. For the price you are paying downtown Columbus OH, there are plenty of other choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
StephenL,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay. I do apologize that you felt the lobby renovation was a "massive" renovation. The current phase of the renovation is isolated to the front desk check-in area and breakfast buffet with the other parts for the common areas open and renovations complete. The lobby is scheduled to be completed the week of August 12th. I see that we did refund you one night stay due to the inconveniences you experienced. I hope you give us another opportunity once the renovations are complete. Thank you again for taking the time to share your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel was fine. The staff forgot to tell me that the hotel was under construction and that the only parking available was valet parking. I found this out late night after driving 500 miles. The expense of the hotel including parking was way more than competing chains. If I had been told about these two issues< I would have been able to make a better informed decision on which hotel that I would have stayed in that night. It has soured me on the Hilton chain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
RobertP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your recent stay. I do apologize that you were not informed of the lobby renovations and the valet parking. This is something that should have been explained when making your reservation. I do understand how this can be quite a surprise to someone at check-in. As we stand behind our 100% guarantee, I have refunded your room and parking charges for the night. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSKALOOSA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

But half the views look down at a dumpster. Breakfast is NOT super -- pretty average to blah. But the offerings are substantial. We don't like the all-metal lined indoor pool. Too slippery. But the location in downtown is great -- across the road from Farmer's Market and the Convention Center. Walking distance to lots of restaurants and bars. Be aware that valet parking is $23 per NIGHT.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stay at this hotel every year. The staff is terrific and will help you with anything.
The rooms were remodeled last year and have new bathrooms which are beautiful.
The location is perfect if you are staying downtown. Right across the street from the convention center and just a couple of blocks from the Arena.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kschinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
1,708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#9 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#13 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing