We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay at the Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Ranked #9 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, United States
2 reviews
“We enjoyed our stay at the Hampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everyone we encountered was very nice and helpful. Rooms were clean and roomy. Having breakfast provided saved us a bundle! (Food in the area is EXPENSIVE!). Convenient to where we had our tournament-right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    214
    60
    21
    18
See reviews for
167
147
43
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skillman, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the US Fencing Summer Nationals Competition. We liked the breakfast that was included; the staff was helpful and friendly; the location was perfect, right across the convention center where the competition was held, and within walking distance to many restaurant. Also, it's very close to the COSI Science Museum, which is a must-go. The room condition could be improved: the TV in the living room had problems; the water flow to sink in the bathroom was slow and was just low warm; there was only one sink in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Matthew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
MatthewY,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us a review of your recent stay during the US Fencing competition. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the location, amenities that were offered and the staff. I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with the TV and water flow in the bathroom. I do see you stayed in one of our rooms that have not yet been renovated. Nonetheless, I am sorry you experienced those issues. Thank you again for your comments and I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Hampton Inn, on N. High Street, is a great downtown Columbus hotel. It’s very close to Ohio Statehouse, COSI and the great places and food in the city's Short North district. The staff is always extremely friendly and helpful. Highly recommended to families with little kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
ScottR,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us ! I am very happy to hear you found the hotel to be "kid friendly," especially with all the things there are to do in close proximity. Thank you for your recommendation, much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Highly suggest staying here ! Excellent from beginning to the end - from Clifford meeting you at the front door, to the icy cold water you gladly accept at reception, perfect temperature salt water pool, clean comfy rooms and wonderful complimentary breakfast. Perfect location downtown Columbus - LOVE IT HERE !!! We stay atleast once per year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank TRACY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
TraceyW,

Thank you for the awesome review! I am very happy to hear you have a great time staying here! We hope to see you again soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This super clean facility is across the street from the convention center. Superb mattress. New hi- tech no slip tile in room & bath is excellent. Shower fawcet allows perfect temp setting without getting cold water on you because they installed the shower head & fawcet on opposite ends. Brilliant. Huge flat screen. Friendly staff. Valet parking rocked every time we needed the car. In room coffee & tea service. Right on High Street and easy walk for gallery events.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinbayvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
robinbayvillage,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience you had staying with us! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated bathrooms! We have gotten many great compliments on them! It is great to hear the staff was great and that the valet team "rocked."
We look forward to your future stays with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Convention Center. Fine dining was within easy walking distance. The hotel lobby was undergoing renovation but should be completed soon. Overall, we were pleased with the experience. Don't come when the city holds ComFest. The traffic is a mess and it took an hour to complete the last mile to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
ThomasL,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us! I am very pleased to hear you found our location to be very convenient!!! We hope to see you again in the very near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great area of town. Plenty of things to do in the area. Staff was excellent. The staff there went out of there way to greet everyone, every time they saw you. Make sure you ask for Clifford. He was outstanding! God Loves You.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
David C,

Thank you for taking the time to acknowlege the wonderful staff, especially Clifford! We all hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future! Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#5 of 143 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#9 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#13 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing