We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly and welcoming home away from home in Columbus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Ranked #7 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, United States
1 review
“Most friendly and welcoming home away from home in Columbus”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I love this hotel! The staff go out of their way to be welcoming and accommodating. The hotel has been recently updated and the rooms are fresh, clean, comfortable and functional (I travel here for work). This really is a home away from home. I don't love hotel breakfasts, but this site always has fresh fruit and oatmeal for those of us looking for healthy options. I really can't say enough about the staff. They are great. And this hotel is in a great location with access to shopping, restaurants, and museums. I love the free wi-fi in rooms!!!!! Excellent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amy L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    227
    64
    22
    18
See reviews for
185
150
48
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Willis, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The staff at the Hampton in Columbus was fantastic! The person making my rerservations made them incorrect and the staff at the Hampton was able to make sure that there were corrected and I did not have any issues! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was in Columbus for the PMTS show. This hotel is right across the street from the Convention center. Plenty of great restaurants in walking distance. The staff here is awesome, and make sure you say hello to Clifford in the morning. If he cannot brighten your day, then you have serous issues!! lol

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marion, ohio
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I don't recall ever being impressed by any check-in staff. However, the two gentlemen who checked us in were friendly, responsive and helpful. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable and the free breakfast was also clean, and fresh with a good variety. Of course none of these free buffets are known for fabulous taste so fresh, clean with a nice variety is about as high a praise as one can receive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here recently on a leisure trip to Columbus, and was very happy with the stay. The service at the hotel was great--smiling faces every time my boyfriend and I were in the lobby and greeted every morning. The location made it walkable to sites downtown like the State House, and an even easier walk to the bars and restaurants of the Short North. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattr789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great hotel in a good location for exploring the town. It is situated next to the Convention Centre and the North Market, and close to the Nationwide Arena - within a few minutes walking distance of shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment but this didn't interfere at all with my stay. I was given one of the newly refurbished rooms which was lovely, although the heating/air-conditioning unit was really noisy! Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection to choose from. Reception staff and concierge couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Hotel parking is valet only and expensive when staying for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and inviting. The lobby area is much nicer than the rooms and sets the expectations higher than they should be.

The room was pretty clean. I did notice that the bathroom could use some TLC. A lot of dust bunnies hanging out on the vent and some mildew and stains on the floor tile and shower.

The television with HD and a large selection of channels was definitely a nice touch. It was good to unwind and watch after a long day. Although the bed could have been much more comfortable in assisting with the task.

Location was the best part of the hotel. Located near several nice shops and right across the street from the convention center. I would definitely recommend Bernard's and Le Chocoholique for evening destinations.

Overall, it was a good experience with a relatively good value. The requirement to use valet parking at $27 a night was a big drag on the value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wdavis80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 143 in Columbus
1,649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#15 of 143 in Columbus
1,755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#9 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#13 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing