We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Steps from Short North” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Steps from Short North”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for an OSU conference and enjoyed it. They handled the mess and potential disruption from major renovations extremely well. Although I saw evidence of construction work I was never disturbed by noise or dust. My room was quiet and newly decorated. The service was wonderful--friendliest hotel staff I've encountered in ages. My only complaint was temperature. I couldn't seem to get the room cool enough to sleep really deeply, but that might just be my quirk. Overall, a great value close to a very cool neighborhood in Columbus. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    186
    53
    19
    10
See reviews for
142
126
38
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We love staying at this hotel for the Columbus Marathon. The staff & especially the doorman, Clifford, are the best. The location puts us near both the start & finish & gives us many good food & drink, choices along with being near the convention center.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem great, I don't like being near an elevator. They are currently redoing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJJTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites November 1-4. Had a great stay. Property is clean, staff is friendly and helpful, location is great. They are renovating right now, but it's not obtrusive at all. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CintiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed with a wedding group on 11/3/12. The hotel was in the process of renovating, yet that was handled extremely well, as not to be the slightest bother to the guests. I'm sure that is not easily accomplished. The new rooms are fantasic and very clean! It had a nice modern feel to it. As strange as it sounds, you'll love the faucet. The breakfast area on the second floor was upscale and rich looking featuring dark wood, and a beautiful fireplace. The breakfast was very good and had great presentation. Most limited service hotels have a free breakfast but you will not see many with this type of setting!! Lastly, the staff was also very good. Clifford, the bellman, specifically stood out as qiuckly became a favorite to guests as they checked in. Overall, we were very impressed!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at the hotel on 10/31/12. The next day I realized that I had left a shirt behind. I turned around and told two hotel clerks about the situation. It was 1 pm. The clerk had called housekeeping. She had to ask them several times, as though they did not understand her. The clerk stated that the maid said that she did not see a shirt. I described the shirt and asked if she could keep check lost and found, she would not, she only repearted what the maid had said. What the clerk could have done, but did not was to send the maid back to the room or let me go up with her to check, but she did not. That was disappointing, so I left.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank alanstrickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Mr. Strickler, it was a pleasure speaking with you today regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we were unable to locate your shirt that you left behind. I appreciate you bringing your experience with the front desk to me as I will use this as a training tool on how to better handle these types of situations going forward. As discussed, I will be mailing you a complimentary stay voucher that you can use next time you are in Columbus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for a week on two separate occasions while traveling on business. My first stay was not the greatest as I was in a very outdated, worn out, musty room. I requested a renovated room on my second stay and was very pleased - the renovations are definitely giving the property a noticeable facelift. Staff was very friendly on both occasions. The location is great - right across the street from a fantastic indoor farmers market with a wide variety of food options and within walking distance to many other restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Andrea - I am very happy to hear you got to enjoy one of our renovated rooms the second time around! I hope that you will be back again soon and get to enjoy our renovated lobby scheduled to be completed this coming spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Four of us stayed here before the Columbus marathon. The service was terrific!! At check Clifford was cheerful, the gals behind the desk were friendly and smiling!! They gave us all complementary bottles of water - awesome as we were preparing for our run and they started breakfast at 5am instead of the usual 6am so everyone could get to the start line. They called that evening to the room to be sure we were happy with the room and if we needed anything. Then 45 minutes later when we discovered one of us did not have a toothbrush, they brought one right up. The room were large and clean but what I really liked was the service and smiles!! They provided a late checkout and were awesome when we all returned. It is close to the finish line of the marathon

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! I am very happy to hear we exceeded your expectations! I hope that we get to see you again soon in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#16 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215-2008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#9 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#13 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing