We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but limited service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Ranked #11 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location but limited service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Great location. Across the street from the convention center, and in the midst of Columbus' revitalized art and restaurant district. Room was clean, but each day maid didn't clean up our coffee cups from the morning. Had to handle my baggage by myself, even when the staff could see I was struggling with the luggage and my disabled mother! Free breakfast was a B minus--enough to get me going in the morning, but nothing to wait around for. Would recommend for the independent traveler who needs a safe place to stay in downtown Columbus.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    177
    51
    17
    8
See reviews for
138
120
37
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Was in Columbus for a hockey game and this hotel was in the PERFECT location! Nationwide area was a short (less then 5 minutes) walk around the corner. After the game the area immediately surrounding the hotel was lively with night clubs and bars. There is also a farmer's market across the street on Saturday morning.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the public areas clean and nicely appointed. The indoor pool is pretty unique.
The room was clean and everything that's to be expected of a Hampton Inn & Suites. I will definately stay here in the future.
The only downside was the cost of the valet parking. $23 dollars is a little much and there is no self park option.

Room Tip: Use your AAA or other programs benefits to book your room. It saved me more than $50.00 There'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer Michigan
Level Contributor
264 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Nice place, clsoe to everything downtown, nice staff, clean rooms, don't stay on the south side of the building as its next to the bar with outdoor music until late at night. Also all rooms have loud air conditioning units so realize that before you reserve.

Room Tip: Stay on north side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel was excellent for what I needed...close access to the Arena district. Staff were courteous and efficient. Room was clean and quiet. My only gripe was that there were too many people at breakfast for the hotel to accomodate. I would stay here again any time I needed this location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed at the Hampton Inn on a Friday night with some friends for a 2-day seminar & retreat. Great service, very clean hotel, comfy beds, lots to see & do. The beautiful breakfast area has good food & the pool & hot tub were great for some down time. Nice workout room, but didn't use it. The only complaint was the noisy music from the area bars that kept this light sleeper from getting to sleep--even with ear plugs. If you like the night life, don't mind the music or are a heavy sleeper, this is the place for your weekend stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K2_of_Tallmadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed here last night (aug 26th) and it was wonderful. The staff did everything to make you feel like royalty. From the valet parking, bell hop and check in. I would highly recommend staying here as it is close to everything. You have the arena, lc pavillion, north market and I highly recommend going to Martini's for happy hour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawsonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
256 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here while my son attended an event at OSU. Although not right on campus, it was an easy 5-10 min.drive and in a really nice area. We loved the location for walking to the farmer's market and good restaurants. We had a king suite which was beautiful and very quiet. The breakfast area was nicer than most and the food was satisfactory. The only reason I couldn't give 5 stars was the poor maintenance of the workout room equipment. The first treadmill I tried did not work; the second worked but I was unable to change the incline and kept getting shocks through the headphones! Other than that, it was a lovely hotel and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#17 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
2.4 mi away
The Blackwell
The Blackwell
#2 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#27 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
Address: 501 N High St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Columbus
#9 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#13 Family Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing