We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Experience With Rude Staff member”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris
Ranked #83 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Experience With Rude Staff member”
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I obtained my room through Hotwire. I only paid $38.00 per night, and honestly, for the money the room was more than I expected, in terms of size and the extras. There's a mini kitchen, a small living room set up and a seperate bathroom, dvd player..you get the idea.

I arrived mid afternoon with my two kids, we were all exhausted and decided to rest awhile. Not long after I checked in, I received a call from the woman at the front desk and she asked if we were happy with the room. My response was that things were fine and they were, at that time.

A while later I got up to use the restroom and shower and discovered that there were dirty towels and the toilet was stopped up, nearly over flowing. I called the front desk back immediately and this time Ryan answered. When I explained that I needed assistance with the toilet, Ryan coldly suggested that I stop by the front desk and pick up the plunger. Huh? Really, Ryan? I was a tad thrown off by the suggestion that I not only come and pick up the plunger, but I plunge my own toilet. I went on to ask Ryan if a maintenance person was available and Ryan stated there was no maintenance person, and then reminded me again about being able to stop by to pick up the plunger.

Well folks, long story short, Ryan and I go back and forth about the toilet situation for several minutes, then I lay the dirty towel situation on him. Ryan reminded me that when I was called earlier by the front desk staff, everything was fine, and that the room had been triple checked before my arrival. He finally offered another room, but only after a tiring exchange.

Overall, the room had a lot of bang for the buck. However, I have to wonder if it was worth sacrificing the level of customer service that I am used to when staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzradie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
36
33
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

In Ohio for the Quarter Horse Congress and wanted to stay far enough from the expo center to miss the crowds. This property was an excellent choice. Easy on/off of I-71which made it a straight shot to the show. Quiet but with plenty of restaurants/fast food within walking distance. Large shopping mall across the street. Hotel staff were very polite and went out of their way to make sure my stay was pleasant. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying on the north side of Columbus.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — small parking area
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank athcattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Hotel Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, April 27, 2009
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is ""Excellence Every Day, Every Way"", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Also, know that any of our nearly 700 Extended Stay Hotels(sm) locations is eager to serve you in most major metro areas in the U.S. and in Canada. Search for them at any time by going to our website. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malinta, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Great hotel, especially for what we paid thru Hotwire. The hotel is barely below a three star rating in my opinion. Everything was very clean, the rooms quite large, and the full kitchen was just a bonus. One of the staff I dealt with seemed a bit (okay... a LOT) uninterested, but for the most part the rest were helpful. We even arranged a late check-out with no upcharge since our wives were running in the Columbus Marathon and would need a place to shower a bit after noon.

The construction workmanship in the hotel, especially the bathrooms, was a bit sub-par (HUGE caulk joints, sloppy paint, etc), but it's about what you expect in hotel remodels when they're trying to turn 100 units around in a month's time.

The breakfast provided was pretty weak, but I wasn't expecting much. The pool area looked nice, but it was closed for the winter during our stay. Plenty of restaurants/shops close by.

I would definitely stay here again, even at regular Travelocity/Expedia rates.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — the family across the hall from our room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Hotel Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Not a bad place from a cleanliness standpoint. Cheap amenities -- no shampoo in room, have to request at front desk. Free coffee and donuts. however, it is very loud. You can hear doors slamming, people stomping around upstairs, and talking in the next room. I hardly slept. Least soundproof hotel I have been in. Not so great for $101 per night (including tax).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Hotel Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, April 27, 2009
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

It is my pleasure to provide an explanation regarding the issue you described. Every part of our hotel, from the in-room features, to the design of our guest corridors, to the personalized voicemail, is an integral part to creating a ""home away from home"" experience for our guests. Since we recognize that a quiet, relaxing environment is critical to this goal, we have several systems to ensure that noise from within or outside the hotel doesn't interfere with your stay. Although rare, there are instances where a guest may hear noises from the surrounding area. Whenever we are informed of such disturbances, our standard operating procedure is to promptly identify the source of that disturbance and resolve it. I take full responsibility that we were unable to resolve this situation to your satisfaction during your stay.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

I was awarded this hotel via Hotwire.com. On paper, I saw that I was getting 2.5 star with a pool and breakfast, so I was stunned that it was an Extended Stay. No matter, the hotel was fine.

The hotel was in a great location, situated in a very popular shopping district. The restaurants were mostly of the cookie cutter type (Carraba's, Smokey Bones, Chili's, etc), but I know that's OK with most people.

The lobby was very nice, with a business center and breakfast area off to the sides. The breakfast area offered excellent complementary coffees 24/7.

The rooms were small, but well laid out. The kitchenette contained newer appliances. With regards to the television area, the easy chair had a pull out bed for one, situated in front of a smallish TV. The bed itself was small for two, but that is typical for ESA's.

My wife and I used the pool. My wife has a background knowledge of pools, and she noticed that there was enough algae on the pool stairs to leave footprints. That bothered her a little.

Overall, it was a solid, if forgettable stay.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Hotel Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, April 27, 2009
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a ""home away from home"" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Feel free to call us directly or book online at our website. And please remember that the same great stay you had with us can be had at any of the nearly 700 Extended Stay Hotels(sm) in the United States and Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I HotWired this hotel for $50 under 2.5 stars and I was stunned when an Extended Stay came up. I stayed in Extended Stay before and I did not care for it, but that was at 2 stars. Then I looked more closely at the hotel name and it said Extended Stay Deluxe, so the "Deluxe" means a half of star apparently. The word "Deluxe" did make a big difference, as the hotel was much different than their standard version.

First, they actually had a Continental Breakfast. In the non-deluxe version, you get nothing. At least this place had bagels, coffee and fruit, so that was decent.

Second, the rooms were nicer than the normal Extended Stay and not nearly as dreary. Also, the temprature was controlled by a thermostat which was nice, so you could set the temprature. Place was quiet too. A full service kitchen is provided but I did not use it.

Third, there is a work our facility and an outdoor pool. Might not sound like much, but the non-deluxe version does not even have that.

Overall, I thought my stay was fine. Nice area just a few miles from downtown Columbus. Plenty of places to eat nearby, and a mall across the street. Not the "hotel experience" I enjoy or prefer, but for one night it was fine. A couple more nights and it might have gotten on my nerves as I like a little more "bells and whistles" in my hotels.

For $50, it exceeded my standards. Just make sure when you book, you ask for the Extended Stay Deluxe, not the generic Extended Stay as there is one down the street. Like I said, for one night its fine. If you like the finer things in hotels, this place it not for you, or anyone high maintenance.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowden68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Hotel Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a ""home away from home"" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 25, 2003

Wonderful staff and beautifull hotel made me and my family very pleased with our choice. And for less than what we pay at other hotels we got a suite with a kitchen and everything. Very close to the mall so we could shop and in the middle of restaurants too. Perfect for a family visit and we extend out thanks to them for a wonderful time.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Polaris
Candlewood Suites Polaris
#64 of 143 in Columbus
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North Polaris
Comfort Inn North Polaris
#36 of 143 in Columbus
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Columbus - Polaris
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris

Property: Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris
Address: 8555 Lyra Dr, Columbus, OH 43240-2026 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Columbus - Polaris)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Columbus - Polaris Hotel Columbus
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris Ohio
Extended Stay Columbus
Columbus Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing