We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris
Ranked #88 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed March 5, 2013

WARNING: This is a smoking hotel. Even if you do not get a smoking room (which we unfortunately did) the hallways smell of smoke and your clothes and luggage will too. The nice gentleman at the front desk gave us a bottle of "smoke eliminator" which really did not do much. It was not the cleanest hotel either. This was definitely not a "home away from home" as they would like you to believe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-BKL, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Jmseymour,
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that you were checked into a smoking room when you preferred a non-smoking room. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am going to make sure our front desk verifies that reserved room type with each guest upon check-in. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. I invite you to contact me at CPL@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

hotel is conveniently located next to interstate 71 next to the Hilton and Wendys. The area is all malls (Saks, Macys, etc), strip malls (TJ Maxx, Big Lots!, etc), fast food and sit down restaurants and office buildings. Nothing notable.

Hotel itself offers free parking grab and go breakfast (instant oatmeal, granola bars, fresh apples+oranges, coffee) and wifi, which was good enough to stream movies. Rooms are clean but this is def a budget hotel and the sheets, towels, toilet paper, shower curtain, and window curtains are all very thin. Kitchen has 2 of everything - dish towels, pans, forks, spoons, butter knives, one steak knive, 2 salad plates, 2 dinner plates, two soup/cereal bowls and 2 drinking glasses. There is also a colander, cutting board, 2 burner stove top, microwave, full fridge and dishwasher. The ktichen light goes out once every hour or so for about 10 minutes. Something about it getting too hot. Weird.

there is a gym but the 4 machines are ancient, though still in working condition and will get the job done.

Room has a dvd player.

Few interactions with staff but they seem friendly and helpful enough. Overall a great value for the money.

Room Tip: if your room is by the service entrance it will be a bit noisy
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JJcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write a positive review about your stay in Columbus, Ohio. As a valued guest of Extended Stay America. I am delighted to hear of the great value, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Given our commitment to your satisfaction, we are using your comments as an opportunity to improve our services. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to the Columbus area. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had been stuck in Columbus due to weather and stayed her for a few nights. The hotel was great! The staff was extremely friendly. The hotel was relatively quiet. The rooms were comfy and clean. The location is GREAT! The fact it has free Internet was wonderful, too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your recent stay at our Polaris location. We are delighted that you gave us an opportunity during your layover in Columbus. We are totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We look forward to seeing you again on your travels to Columbus, Ohio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We used Hotwire.com to make our reservation. When we arrived, they placed us in a non- smoking room which smelled highly of smoke. We also noted hair about the vent above the stove. Looks like they used the same cleaning rag to wash the whole room. The Gentleman at the front desk was nice and upgraded us to another room. The smoke odor was gone from this room, however we counted 10 plus hairs about the bathroom alone. The bed was less than comfortable. But in fairness the hotel is located next to a multitude of shops and restaurants, and just across the street from the Polaris Mall. The purpose of our stay was shopping for Christmas. Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MedicRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize of the smoke odor and cleanliness in your first room but glad to hear the front office was able to provide you another room. I will also be speaking with our housekeeping department to ensure our guestrooms have the highest quality of cleanliness to prevent these type occurances from happening. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate your feedback. I invite you to contact me at cpl@extendedstay.com if you have any additional comments. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great safe location. The room was nice and clean . The staff were all very friendly

Was here to visit family for Thanksgiving. Did some shopping in which the Mall is a block away.
The rooms were very clean and the exterior was being painted. Nice to have an early morning
place to relax and grab a quick bite to eat. Had reserved a Queen rm which we upgraded to a king for a small fee.........it was 3 x the size. I would suggest this to future guests.

Room Tip: King size bed and room was very big.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobb1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Bobb,
Thank you for writing a positive review of your stay at our Columbus Polaris location. We are delighted you chose our hotel during the Thanksgiving Holiday. It is wonderful to hear of the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of your guestroom in making your stay your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again on your travels back to the Columbus area. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Located on the north side of Columbus and the 270 by-pass, any and every store or restaurant you could possibly ever want is with a 10 minute drive. Our stay lasted almost 2 weeks, and we cooked in the room most of our meals. Beds we comfortable, staff was EXCELLENT.

The only negative is the SKIMPY countertop space in the kitchenette. I don't need a dishwasher - there are only place setting for 3 people! What I DO want is room for the dish drain and at the same time a place to cut veggies or prepare a meal. Our RV has a bigger countertop than this room offered.

We might return for another stay, but I will check other options with kitchettes before booking here again.

The manager and her staff were excellent tho - and that makes up for a poor design.

Room Tip: Rooms on ends are easiest to access your vehicle. Rooms on back side 2rd or 3rd floor will allow you...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay Deluxe Columbus - Polaris. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel does have many good points, just not when it comes to getting a good night's sleep. I will start will the good; great location especially since our purpose was a party nearby in Polaris, clean rooms, didn't even have a stale smell to them, friendly staff, didn't need much but they were pleasant on check in and finally large sized rooms, would be great if staying a large number of days. Unfortunately, I would not go back because when I book a hotel it is usually because I need somewhere to sleep. The bed felt like cardboard with springs, and broken springs at that. The temperature in the room was difficult to control, and there was no control for the fan and able to turn it off. The walls are very thin, we could here the people walking around above us and the plumbing of those on either side of us, not mention the going ons at the front desk. There were only three pillows (we both use two) in the room and they were all in need of replacement. The cover was thin and the cheap comforter wouldn't even stay on the bed, continually slipped off the bed.

All in all, would not go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-TOH, Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Polaris location. Given our company's commitment to superior guest service, it was great to read about your positive experience with our staff and cleanliness of your guestroom. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. You certainly have my sincerest apologies.

We know that you have several lodging options, which is why it is so important to us that we provide you with a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. We recognize that if our guests can't get a good night's sleep, they won't return, so we've chosen bedding that we hope best suits their needs. I do take seriously your concern, and promise that we will continue to look for ways to make sure every guest is as comfortable as possible when staying with us.

I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel at cpl@extendedstay. We hope you will allow us another opportunity when your travels bring you back to Columbus, Ohio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Polaris
Candlewood Suites Polaris
#63 of 143 in Columbus
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North Polaris
Comfort Inn North Polaris
#38 of 143 in Columbus
238 reviews
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Columbus - Polaris
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Polaris
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Columbus - Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris

Address: 8555 Lyra Dr, Columbus, OH 43240-2026 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Columbus - Polaris)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $92 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Columbus - Polaris Hotel Columbus
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Polaris Ohio
Extended Stay Columbus
Columbus Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing