We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great but experience was average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Ranked #54 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed July 16, 2014

1. Door to room was difficult to open due to hardware problems. 2. Several of our party had issues with their room upon arrival. 3. Be wary of additional parking fees upon departure. 4. Calls to room service went unanswered. 5. Parking garage is not Handicap friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe J, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Good Morning William W,

Please accept our humble apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are working to remedy these issues & hope you'll visit us again & allow us to regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

The service was poor. My room was never made up. There was a huge hole in our bathroom wall. We looked out onto a concrete slab. The staff was not helpful in finding places to eat. We were told to go to places that were closed. When I asked for more towels, the towels were placed on our desk and the cleaning person never looked to see if the room was made up. They never took our old towels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe J, Management Team at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Rooms were incredibly spacias. The staff was helpful. However, I have never had to pay for parking at any Hilton property. I would like to tell you that our waitress, Sukki was not only courteous, but helpful

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Noa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe J, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Hello Noa M,

Thanks for your feedback, it will be shared with the team & Sukki will get the recognition she deserves for continuing to offer great service to our loyal guests like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I like this hotel and chose it because of a previous stay. The suites have a very elegant look. I felt very comfortable. I originally reserved a king room, but due to my early arrival, there was not one available. I was placed in a room with double beds. I was okay with that. Overall, my stay was very good. The only exception was that I did not have any stirrers for my coffee on my last day there. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Eula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe J, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Eula J,

Thanks for the feedback & we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for 4th of July weekend. Lots of problems! Elevators weren't working properly. We saw someone get stuck in one on the lobby level. Check in gave us the wrong room number. Took 2 trips back to the desk to get things straightened out. A/C in hallways were broke. We saw people bringing fans up the elevator because their room A/C wasn't working. Room didn't have enough towels for our family of 4. We called on the first night and got more, but then the next day after they cleaned we didn't have enough again. No sheets or pillow cases for pull out couch. Had to call for those too. Very frustrating. The room was nice, but the whole place had a funny smell. Not really worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdbslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe J, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We're confident we've corrected these issues to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. Please feel free to reach me at Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as it will be used to help enhance our service efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Right, I'll start with the positives:
Spacious (possibly even luxurious) room
Friendly staff at reception and in the hotel bar, which, incidentally, is a great bar!
Great gym in the attached Capital Club

But sadly that is it. For the price I paid, I was not overly impressed.

Breakfast was not included, cost the best part of $20 and the food was matched with equally abysmal service. Fortunately Danny's Deli next door was able to meet my breakfast needs from day 2 onwards.

$10 a day for wifi... Really, in this day and age, especially given the room rate, this should be free.

The two and coffee for the coffee maker in the room was seldom replenished.

In general, this was the second, and, by a long way, second best, of the two Hiltons I stayed at during my trip.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe J, Management Team at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, gym, bar and that our front desk staff did a great job of delivering quality service to you. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rooms are a bit pricey, and on top of it you have to pay an additional $22 for parking and $10 per day for internet! WiFi is free at almost every hotel I've ever stayed at, It's ridiculous that in 2014 this hotel forces customers to pay extra for WiFi access when it costs the hotel almost nothing to set up a few routers. Completely uncalled for. Also there is no free breakfast, that will also cost you extra.

The rooms themselves were very roomy and luxurious. However the shower water would not get hot, the coffee maker was not cleaned, and the remote for the TV didn't work. Can't say I recommend this hotel considering when you add everything up you will be paying too much.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
Thank WVUfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe J, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that {Issue} during your stay.
Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#45 of 143 in Columbus
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#59 of 143 in Columbus
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown

Address: 50 S Front St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $151 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotels in downtown Columbus, renowned for its cookie, the DoubleTree Suites is the only all-suite hotel in Columbus, OH. Not many hotels in Columbus, Ohio offer access to so much! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Columbus
Doubletree Columbus
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing