We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Some great things....but mostly unpalatable things...there are better choices in the area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Ranked #49 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Some great things....but mostly unpalatable things...there are better choices in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed there because it was 50 bucks and 10,000 HH points...and we got a corner suite...with a wet bar...and it was a Doubletree by HILTON...so on paper we were golden, right??? Well....not so much....the room and the view were beautiful...overlooking the river....awesome....room was huge...a full 1BR suite....but it was NOT clean and not taken care of and not up to Hilton and DT standards....our friends had to change rooms as their AC didn't work at all....ours worked but not super well..... the fridge at the wet bar was older...and something smelled behind it....but it didn't taint the room....so we lived with it because the place was full......HOUSEKEEPING WAS THE WORST WE HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED AT ANY MAJOR CHAIN PROPERTY ANYWHERE!!! (sorry for shouting, but you need to see that!!). Didn't empty the trash, didn't vacuum, took the extra towels we requested at check-in and didn't replace them....didn't re-supply the coffee service.....they did NOTHING right the whole time we were there....and the common areas were grungy and unkept as well......staff was cool....but they dropped the ball on our pre-checkin requests....the breakfast buffet was good..and it WAS NOT FREE....so it wasn't that horrible free breakfast experience.....the property sits on top of the ramp garage...so you have to take 1 elevator from the ramp to the lobby,,,,and a different one up to your floor...a MAJOR HASSLE with all your stuff....and they charge 19 bucks a day for the parking....what a rip-off especially on the weekend when the ramp is empty.....the location is cool....you can walk down to the riverwalk where there are benches and swings...and 2 blocks to Gay Street where there are restaurants and bars and shops.....we will NEVER stay there again....no matter what....next time we will try the Hampton Inn next to the market...the market is way cool and there are a bunch of restaurants and bars right across the street from it...FYI...we complained to Hilton and the hotel and they gave me (a gold member) 10,000 points back....but they gave my friend (a platinum member) 10,000 points AND 50 bucks,,,and they wouldn't respond to my e-mails when I asked them why the difference....HH is getting less beneficial every year.....

Room Tip: Get a corner suite.....beautifyl....or make sure you get a room facing the river...or you will be lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuzinbuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    237
    196
    164
    126
See reviews for
226
179
45
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Twinsburg, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We "booked" the DoubleTree in Columbus for Chelsea Durdel and Bobby Roidt's wedding. All went well. Some family members lost water pressure. Remodeling is understandable. Parking needs better signage in order to find it. Nice location in downtown Columbus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wonderful welcome, attentive waitress, and on the spot security. It was early in the morning and I was looking for something in the compartment between the front seats. As I backed out off the front seat, a security was standing by making sure it was MY car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climax, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is extremely comfortable and the staff at various locations have always been happy and helpful. I always look for a Double Tree when I am thinking of taking a trip and staying over night. They have great rooms and the friendliness of their staff keeps me a regular customer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We are on our last night here from a week long stay. If it wouldn't have been such a hassle to pack up at 2 year old and 9 year old, 2 adults, and all of our luggage, we would've left on the second day. Apparently, a pipe burst flooding the top floors a week before our arrival. The first two days at the hotel we had to take the service elevator. This wouldn't have been a problem if some of the housekeepers would've understood that it's not ok to curse in front of guest, especially if they have young children with them. Our chief complaint has been the noise from the construction to the floors above and below us. They are ongoing throughout the day. We try to stay away from our room for most of the day, but 2 yr olds do need to nap. I've expressed my frustration with the front desk about my 2 yr old missing naptime going on 4 days now and the explosive meltdowns this creates. Their best answer is to explain that construction must go on. I understand that, as a business, you need to make a profit which equates to you booking rooms. However, I don't think I'm being unreasonable if I ask if you can move the crew over to a higher level or a room further away for an hour or so. It's not always about the bottom line. It's also about ensuring your guests are comfortable and happy. The last complaint would be the housekeepers coming in and cleaning only half of the suite. If your going to toss the trash and make the foldout bed in the sitting area, please do so for the remainder of the suite as well. Their remedy seems to be to placate you with a cookie. Yes, thank you they are lovely. But, you're not running a bake shop, you're running a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junoloved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The only reason I wouldn't stay here again is because it's a bit farther of a walk to the convention center than I thought. It's definitely doable, but I'd prefer to stay somewhere closer next time. Otherwise, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank JennaBizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Several bad experiences. 1. $20 per vehicle to park on weekends. 2. Room air conditioner didn't work... only the fan. It was late at night and we didn't feel like complaining and changing rooms. 3. The room had a strong smell like air freshener. 4. The front desk was not very knowledgeable or helpful. 5. No cookie was offered. (little thing, but is a decision maker!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Downtown Capital Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#31 of 142 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#65 of 142 in Columbus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Address: 50 S. Front St., Columbus, OH 43215-4145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotels in downtown Columbus, renowned for its cookie, the DoubleTree Suites is the only all-suite hotel in Columbus, OH. Not many hotels in Columbus, Ohio offer access to so much! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Columbus
Doubletree Columbus
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing