We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation going on - be warned.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Ranked #54 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Renovation going on - be warned.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during Pelotonia. They were renovating the room next door and the one across the hall. Walked off the elevator and it smelled like they were sawing wet wood. What's worse - the room smelled like it too. Overpowering. They eventually moved us to another floor. The hallway still smelled but the room was better. The room smelled musty but not the overpowering construction odor. Nice big rooms. Get a room on a floor that they're not working on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank commercialloanbroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    266
    225
    191
    138
See reviews for
268
203
53
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel has black mold and it made several of us sick. The laundry service was timely but half the clothes had a bad odor. Room service is fast but they forgot something everytime. We had to wait 4 hours to check in due to their computer systems being down so they started checking us in manually and accidentally gave two of us the same room. Food was ok, not great. Had no water to take a shower one morning. I do not recommend this hotel for anyone. It's a disaster.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Columbus, OH, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very bad experience. Hotel was under construction with no advance knowledge. Water was multiple times off at hotel, constant banging / drilling sounds all day, ac not very efficient, water in sinks / tub don't drain, and front desk employees (mostly) had no personality and seemed to not give a rants butt on the problems we were having. Very dissatisfied Some rooms had been updated with newer interiors, and looked good. Other than the newer rooms on higher floors and the adjoining gym usage, this was a bad stay; multiple times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the DoubleTree in downtown Columbus for more than 7 days due to an extended business trip. This hotel does not meet the quality standards that I have come to know Hilton for. The internet was so slow that I was able to secure a faster connection using the 3G hotspot on my iPhone. The breakfast served at the hotel restaurant was so poor that instead of taking advantage of the continental breakfast, I chose to eat out every morning. Both televisions in my room had very poor channel clarity, to the extent that some channels could not be watched. I reported this issue three times to hotel staff and nothing was done. I quickly learned not to expect the housekeeping staff to re-stock my toilet paper, Kleenex, and bottled water supplies (it must be cost reduction season). I can go on, and on. Never again will I stay at this hotel, nor do I suggest anyone stay here. Walk up the street a few blocks to the Hilton or Hyatt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Terrible hotel, loud rooms, poor A/C, renovation is cheap and incomplete, slow internet, poor location to local venues, poor food and service, hotel staff was not helpful, value for the money is not there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KNOXVILLE, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Overall the hotel was pretty. However, due to the fact that I had to change my reservation from two nights to one my rate increased almost $50.00. A rate should not increase if you have already secured your room rate at a certain amount. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Felecia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

First off, the room smelled of smoke and the restroom lighting did not work. I arrived late and the second part of my experience I learned the next morning that the restroom lighting did not work and had to get ready in the dark. The third and final was breakfast when I waited to be seating, there was no host up front and two people from the back of house only came up to tell me they would be right back and never returned, I was left waiting and wondering how could the staff be so busy not seat me when only 6 customers were in the restaurant. It was clear there was poor communication and hotel was understaffed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#41 of 143 in Columbus
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Columbus
The Westin Columbus
#62 of 143 in Columbus
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Address: 50 S Front St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 143 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotels in downtown Columbus, renowned for its cookie, the DoubleTree Suites is the only all-suite hotel in Columbus, OH. Not many hotels in Columbus, Ohio offer access to so much! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Columbus
Doubletree Columbus
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing