We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pleased with cleanliness.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown
Ranked #56 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The main part of the room was clean (living room, kitchen), but there was black moldy looking spots in the bathtub molding, scum buildup on the bathroom faucet, and something funky looking in the freezer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Evan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

The rooms are very big, though not the newest. The staff seemed to enjoy us. Where else can you checkin and get those AMAZING cookies, if you haven't had one I guarantee those cookies will make you go back for more. We'll be back in June

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Wing H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We got a suite for the same price we normally pay for a regular room at most other hotels when we travel. The kids were able to watched what they wanted in the living room while the hubby closed himself in the bedroom to watch the game. The property seems older but its a hilton and didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tifany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

There was some trepidation prior to my stay given the hotel's nasty reviews on TripAdvisor but thankfully the only tragedy was the lack of a welcome cookie when we checked in. Overall, the stay was comfortable and even with all rooms fully booked, things went pretty much as it should. No crowding at elevators, rooms were clean and cozy, and it was nice and quiet (though I wasn't in during the daytime).

As the name suggests, rooms are suites with a spacious living space with small kitchenette, the room, and an utility area leading to the bathroom. The living space had a >40 inch flatscreen, a sofa, and an armchair while the adjoining kitchenette (divided by a work desk) has a sink, coffee maker, good size refrigerator, and a microwave. The room (divided by shutter doors) hosts another >40 inch flatscreen, and a nice big bed. Bathroom is pretty standard and utility area has the usual closet space, hair dryer and iron with board though an in-room safe is absent.

Overall, my main gripe was the too soft pillows that were also smaller than standard size (an annoyance) and the fact that my room stank of smoke although the hotel was supposedly 100% smoke free. Service was also sub-standard with toiletries and coffee/tea facilities not fully replaced/restocked daily. Front desk was functional but could strive for a higher level of service easily.

The hotel lobby is accessible via an elevator from the street (it sits above a multi-storey parking facility) and a separate elevator gets you to your rooms. There's a convenient 24 hour mini mart at the lobby to stave off those hunger pangs and this is particularly useful given the dearth of any restaurants being opened late in the neighbourhood (though front desk did say that some places can deliver to the hotel).

PLUS:

Lots of space.
Kitchenette was useful.
Two big TV's were awesome!

MINUS:

No free WiFi although the hotel extended free access when I asked.
No restaurants open in the vicinity late at night.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the river are more scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danjumbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went with my kids to a wedding in Columbus. We came back from the wedding to find a party going on late Saturday night in the room and out into the hallway directly across from us. It took 3 calls to the front desk to get anyone to come up and handle it. I finally had to go out and deal with it...just to get some sleep. No one cleaned the room at any point.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

checked in at 4:30 and had to wait 20 minutes to get room keys. front desk girl was friendly.
room was hot and dirty. sofa bed was broken and carpet was filthy. windows were very dirty on both sides. drapes had what looked like food stains all over them. renovation noise was unbearable.

Room Tip: stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've stayed here before in the past but each time its been because of the location only. This time was much improved - the rooms still need an update but the extra space and sofa bed makes up for a lot. The service was better, everyone seemed happy to help & those cookies are always the best. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms we've stayed in was a suite so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horrace k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton N, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

We appreciate the positive feedback as well as the negative feedback, and I'd like to thank you for reaching out to us regarding what we're doing right. We will continue to make strides with our service, we're always happy to help and our cookies are always going to taste good. Thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
Courtyard Columbus Downtown
#44 of 144 in Columbus
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus Dwtn-Capitol Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel LeVeque, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Columbus at Capitol Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown

Address: 50 S Front St, Columbus, OH 43215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 144 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $147 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotels in downtown Columbus, renowned for its cookie, the DoubleTree Suites is the only all-suite hotel in Columbus, OH. Not many hotels in Columbus, Ohio offer access to so much! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Columbus
Doubletree Columbus
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Columbus Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing