We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Exceeded my Expectations!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Ranked #35 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“Exceeded my Expectations!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The facility was beautiful and clean. The rooms were very nice and clean as well. I only have one complaint and that is that they didn't provide lotion. I jumped in the car and took a last minute trip and was surprised to find that they didn't provide lotion. The size and set up of the room was great for families with children. Cleanliness goes the further than anything for me, it was beyond clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyree h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Nyree H,

It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed our beautiful and clean hotel. We appreciate you sharing your kind review with us and other travelers. Our team strives to be your hotel of choice when in the Columbus OSU area.

Kind Regards,
Al Schreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    103
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
88
45
6
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Inlet, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Easy check in, great staff, clean and spacious rooms with a divider between sitting and sleeping areas.

The staff is personable and helpful. The housekeeping staff is thorough. A variety of fast food options are close neighbors. Convenient. Down the road from Ohio State.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Harry R,

We are delighted you took the time to share your kind review; we value your comments. It’s wonderful to know your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Nothing would please us more than a return visit.

Warm Regards,
Al Schreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Was there for a wedding and my room was surrounded by a Little League team. When brought to their attention the managers quickly changed me to another wing in the hotel. They also helped me move my stuff which was very nice. It was still a bit noisy, perhaps the housecleaning staff could be more conscious of not allowing the doors to slam every time they go in and out. The room was clean, and the the breakfast spread was good. Wide variety of fresh food and a nice area to sit and eat. Also very convenient location close to OSU and easy to get to the local spots.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall it might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Howard G,

It is fantastic to hear that your stay was enjoyable! I’m sorry for your initial frustration, but I’m glad we were able to accommodate you in a room which was quieter. We thank you for your compliments regarding our clean suites, ample breakfast and convenient location, but more importantly our staff. Our associates strive to provide exceptional guest experiences; I will be sure to share your kind feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to write.

Best,
Al Shcreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

6 of us stayed in this hotel comfortably in a room with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The separate bathroom and shower rooms were very convenient for us. We did not sample any breakfast. Ample parking was available and free. My only gripe was it was a bit far away from downtown but Columbus is easily navigable.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are suites. The suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac5155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Matt C,

Thank you for your kind review! We’re pleased to hear our spacious suites and ample parking made for an enjoyable stay; I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. It was a pleasure to host you. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area.

Best,
Al Schreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is new and nice , but the room near the back is very close to a rail track. When the train running, it make very loud sound. if you want to be quite, try to stay in a room near the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: choice a room close to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Our associates understand and believe that our valued guests deserve an exceptional stay and we will continue to push daily to find new ways to WOW our guests. I will be sure to share your very kind feedback regarding our nice and new rooms with our team; they work hard to ensure guests feel at home. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind feedback along with areas of opportunity for improvement. We hope to see you again.

Best,
Al Schreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I love the brand of SpringHill Suites. Very large rooms that seemed brand new. Bright colors make you feel like you're in a nice place instead of a drab motel. The limited service concept is great for business travelers. However, a key amenity is reliable and strong wifi signals. As a Marriott Gold, I was only given the basic wifi that every other guest gets complimentary anyway. It was fine late at night, but when I was in a meeting the next day (in their lobby conference room), I wasn't able to stay connected with a constant "limited" signal strength the entire morning/afternoon. Frustrating to say the least. I would have thought they'd give the Marriott gold status members free Premium wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Songer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write. My apologies for the frustration you experienced with internet. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed our bright and fresh hotel. I appreciate you recognizing our strengths while providing us some areas of opportunity for improvement. It is feedback like yours which allows us to positively impact future guest experiences.

Sincerely,
Al Schreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Arrived in Columbus around 9:30 AM and decided to drive by the hotel just to check it out. Walked in and was greeted warmly by the front desk. Told them we had reservations for the night, but knew it was way too early for check-in. The desk clerk said the hotel was 100% occupied the night before, but to please give him a minute to check and see if any rooms had already been cleaned. 10 minutes later, we were unloading our suitcases in our 4th floor (on the end) suite with a king size bed....exactly what we hoped for. The room was actually a small suite with a pull out sleeper sofa and a desk, plus a small frig, microwave, and pod coffee maker. The bedroom area was reasonably sized and the layout of the bathroom was very nice. It was actually two separate rooms...one with the toilet and a small sink, the other had a sink with a vanity and a nice sized shower. Great solution for 2 people trying to get ready at the same time.
The Free Breakfast was quite nice each morning....great choices: waffles (you made yourself), cereal, hot Quaker oatmeal, scrambled eggs, sausage, several varieties of bagels, pastries, and juices. Also loved having a couple flavors of yogurt and types of milk available. Coffee was available 24 hours a day. There was a small bar with a TV, but the bar never seemed to be open (only disappointment of the entire stay because there were World Cup games being played).
The fitness room and indoor pool looked nice, but we did not make use of either.
Some have commented on hearing traffic and/or trains; we never heard either (so I guess Room 427 is a good room suggestion). One tip I will pass along is that we have started to travel with a small "sound machine" so that may have helped with any noises.
The location is great for getting to campus or the highways.
Very clean and nicely furnished hotel. Been to Columbus many times to visit family and this was the best combination of convenience/price/hospitality/comfort out of all the hotels. We will definitely stay here next time we visit Columbus!

Room Tip: Fourth Floor (427) was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PanthersFan1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind review with us and other travelers. It’s nice to know you enjoyed our well-equipped suites, ample breakfast and convenient location. I’m glad our staff was accommodating. It’s encouraging to hear that our hard work is affecting the guest experience. Thank you taking the time to write.

Kind Regards,
Al Schreiber, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#5 of 142 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
0.0 mi away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#98 of 142 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU

Property: SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU
Address: 1421 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43212-1449
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Columbus
#31 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU hotel is an all-suite hotel ideally located less than a mile to The Ohio State University Football Stadium, Campus & Ohio State Medical Center and Lennox Town Center on Olentangy River Rd. Just 3 minutes to Downtown Columbus, German Village and Short North area with attractions, dining and shopping. These contemporary hotel suites feature separate living and sleeping areas with microwave and mini-fridge as well as free WiFi. Hotel Amenities include Free WiFi, Cocktail Bar, Fireside Patio, Large Fitness Center, Indoor Pool. A free hot breakfast buffet is included with your rate at this Columbus Ohio hotel. Ask us about our free transportation within a 3 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbus Osu Hotel Columbus
SpringHill Suites Columbus OSU Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing